AN ACT
RELATING TO SECURITIES; AMENDING SECTION 58-13B-24 NMSA 1978
(BEING LAWS 1986, CHAPTER 7, SECTION 24, AS AMENDED) TO

CHANGE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS.

BE 1T ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
Section 1. Section 58-13B-24 NMSA 1978 (being Laws
1986, Chapter 7, Section 24, as amended) is amended to read:
'"'58-13B-24. PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO REGISTRATION
GENERALLY . --

A_. A registration statement may be filed by the
issuer, any other person on whose behalf the offering is to
be made or a registered broker-dealer.

B. If a registration statement i1s withdrawn
before the effective date or a pre-effective stop order is
entered pursuant to Section 58-13B-25 NMSA 1978, the director
shall retain the fee set forth iIn this subsection. A person
filing a registration statement shall pay a filing fee of:

(1) one-tenth of one percent of the maximum
aggregate offering price at which the registered securities
are to be offered in New Mexico, but not less than five
hundred twenty-five dollars ($525) or more than two thousand
five hundred dollars ($2,500); or

(2) five hundred twenty-five dollars ($525)

ifT the person Is a corporate issuer or a person acting on
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behalft of a corporate issuer and is claiming an exemption
from the registration requirements of federal law regarding
small corporate offerings pursuant to Rule 504 of Regulation
D (17 CFR 230.504).

C. A registration statement must specify the
amount of securities to be offered in New Mexico and:

(1) the states in which a registration
statement or similar document in connection with the offering
has been or is to be filed; and

(2) any adverse order, judgment or decree
entered by the securities agency or administrator in any
state or by a court or the securities and exchange commission
in connection with the offering.

D. A document filed pursuant to the New Mexico
Securities Act of 1986 or a predecessor act, within five
years before the filing of a registration statement, may be
incorporated by reference in the registration statement if
the document i1s currently accurate.

E. The director by rule or order may permit the
omission of an i1tem of information or document from a
registration statement.

F. In the case of a non-issuer offering, the
director may not require information pursuant to Section
58-13B-23 NMSA 1978 or Subsection L of this section unless it

is known to the person filing the registration statement or
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to the persons on whose behalf the offering Is to be made, or
can be furnished by them without unreasonable effort or
expense.

G. In the case of a registration pursuant to
Section 58-13B-22 or 58-13B-23 NMSA 1978 by an issuer who has
no public market for its shares and no significant earnings
from continuing operations during the last five years or any
shorter period of i1ts existence, the director by rule or
order may require as a condition of registration that the
following securities be deposited in escrow for not more than
three years:

(1) a security issued to a promoter, control
person or affiliate within the three years immediately before
the offering or to be issued to such persons for a
consideration substantially less than the offering price; and

(2) a security issued to a promoter, control
person or affiliate for a consideration other than cash,
unless the registrant demonstrates that the value of the
noncash consideration received in exchange for the security
is substantially equal to the offering price for the
security.

The director by rule or order may determine the
conditions of an escrow required pursuant to this subsection,
but the director may not reject a depository solely because

of location i1In another state.
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H. The director by rule or order may require as a
condition of registration pursuant to Section 58-13B-22 or
58-13B-23 NMSA 1978 that the proceeds from the sale of the
registered security in New Mexico be impounded until the
issuer receives a specified amount from the sale of the
security. The director by rule or order may determine the
conditions of an impoundment arrangement required pursuant to
this subsection, but the director may not reject a depository
solely because of i1ts location in another state.

1. If a security is registered pursuant to
Section 58-13B-21 or 58-13B-22 NMSA 1978, the prospectus
filed pursuant to the federal Securities Act of 1933 shall be
delivered to each purchaser in accordance with the prospectus
delivery requirements of the federal Securities Act of 1933.
With respect to a security registered pursuant to Section
58-13B-21 or 58-13B-22 NMSA 1978, the director by rule or
order may require the delivery of other material documents or
information to each purchaser concurrent with or prior to the
delivery of the prospectus.

J. ITf a security is registered pursuant to
Section 58-13B-23 NMSA 1978, an offering document containing
information the director by rule or order designates shall be
delivered to each purchaser with or before the earliest of:

(1) the fTirst written offer made to the

purchaser by or for the account of the issuer or another
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person on whose behalf the offering is being made or by an
underwriter or broker-dealer who is offering part of an
unsold allotment or subscription taken by it as a participant
in the distribution;

(2) confirmation of a sale made by or for
the account of a person named in Paragraph (1) of this
subsection;

(3) payment pursuant to a sale; or

(4) delivery pursuant to a sale.

K. A registration statement remains effective for
one year after its effective date unless the director by rule
or order extends the period of effectiveness. All
outstanding securities of the same class as a registered
security are considered to be registered for the purpose of a
non-issuer transaction while the registration statement is
effective, unless the director by rule or order provides
otherwise. A registration statement may not be withdrawn
after i1ts effective date i1f any of the securities registered
have been sold in New Mexico, unless the director by rule or
order provides otherwise. No registration statement is
effective while a stop order is iIn effect pursuant to
Subsection A of Section 58-13B-25 NMSA 1978.

L. During the period that an offering is being
made pursuant to an effective registration statement, the

director by rule or order may require the person who filed
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the registration statement to file reports, not more often
than quarterly, to keep reasonably current the information
contained in the registration statement and to disclose the
progress of the offering.

M. A registration statement filed pursuant to
Section 58-13B-21 or 58-13B-22 NMSA 1978 may be amended after
its effective date to iIncrease the securities specified to be
offered and sold. The amendment becomes effective upon
filing of the amendment and payment of an additional filing
fee, which shall be three times the fee otherwise payable,
calculated In the manner specified in Subsection B of this
section, with respect to the additional securities to be
offered and sold. The effectiveness of the amendment relates
back to the date or dates of sale of the additional
securities being registered.

N. A registration statement filed pursuant to
Section 58-13B-23 NMSA 1978 may be amended after its
effective date to increase the securities specified to be
offered and sold, provided that the public offering price and
underwriters®™ discounts and commissions are not changed from
the respective amounts of which the director was informed.
The amendment becomes effective when the director so orders
and relates back to the date of sale of the additional
securities being registered. A person filing an amendment

shall pay an additional filing fee, which shall be three
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times the fee otherwise payable, calculated in the manner
specified iIn Subsection B of this section, with respect to
the additional securities to be offered and sold.

0. Pursuant to Section 106(c) of the federal
Secondary Mortgage Market Enhancement Act of 1984, any
securities that are offered and sold pursuant to Section 4(5)
of the federal Securities Act of 1933 or that are mortgage-
related securities, as that term is defined iIn Section
3(a)(41) of the federal Securities Exchange Act of 1934,
being 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(41), are required to comply with all
applicable registration and qualification requirements of the
New Mexico Securities Act of 1986 and the rules pursuant to
that act and shall not be treated as obligations issued by
the United States for purposes of that act.

P. With respect to a federal covered security, as
defined in Section 18(b)(2) of the federal Securities Act of
1993:

(1) prior to the offer of the security in
New Mexico, the following shall be filed by or on behalf of
the issuer:

(a) a notice of intent to sell the
security that provides: 1) the name and address of the
issuer; 2) a description of the securities to be offered; 3)
the name, address and telephone number of an authorized

contact person; and 4) other information that the director HB 319
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may, by rule or by order, require;

(b) a consent to service of process;
and

(c) a notification fee in the amount
of five hundred twenty-five dollars ($525); and

(2) the notice of intent and fee specified

in Paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be effective for a
period of one year from the date of filing with the director.

Q. With respect to any security that is a federal
covered security pursuant to Section 18(b)(4)(D) of the
Tfederal Securities Act of 1933, the director, by rule or by
order, may require the issuer to file, no later than fifteen
days after the first sale of the federal covered security in
New Mexico, a notice containing the information required by
SEC Form D and a consent to service of process signed by the
issuer, together with a notification fee in the amount of
three hundred fifty dollars ($350).

R. The director, by rule or by order, may require
the filing of any document filed with the United States
securities and exchange commission pursuant to the federal
Securities Act of 1933 with respect to a federal covered
security pursuant to Section 18(b)(3) or (4) of the federal
Securities Act of 1933, together with a fee to be determined
by the director.

S. The director may issue a stop order suspending
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the offer and sale of a federal covered security, except a
federal covered security pursuant to Section 18(b)(1) of the
federal Securities Act of 1933, i1if he finds that:
(1) the order is in the public interest; and
(2) there is a failure to comply with any
condition established pursuant to this section.
T. The director, by rule or otherwise, may waive
any or all of the provisions of this section.”
Section 2. EFFECTIVE DATE.--The effective date of the

provisions of this act is July 1, 1998. HB 319
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