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SHORT TITLE Chemical Castration of Some Sex Offenders 

BILL 
NUMBER House Bill 128 

  
ANALYST Daly 

 
REVENUE* 

(dollars in thousands) 
 

Estimated Revenue Recurring 
or Nonrecurring 

Fund 
Affected FY23 FY24 FY25 

$402.6 $1,610.3 $1,610.3 Recurring General Fund 

Parentheses ( ) indicate revenue decreases. 
*Amounts reflect most recent version of this legislation. 
 
 

ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT* 
(dollars in thousands) 

 
 FY24 FY25 FY26 

3 Year 
Total Cost 

Recurring or 
Nonrecurring 

Fund 
Affected 

Costs to NMCD $0.0 At least $26.6 At least $37.6 At least $64.2 Recurring General Fund 

Costs to 
County Jails 

Indeterminate 
but minimal 

At least $9.6 to 
$19.2 

At least $9.6 to 
$19.2 

At least $19.6 
to $38.4  

Recurring 
County General 

Fund 

DOH $539.4 $2,157.6 $2,157.6 $4,856.6 Recurring 
 

General  Fund 
 

Parentheses ( ) indicate expenditure decreases. 
*Amounts reflect most recent version of this legislation. 

 
Sources of Information 
 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Department of Corrections (NMCD) 
Department of Health (DOH) 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) 
Law Offices of the Public Defender (LOPD) 
New Mexico Attorney General (NMAG) 
New Mexico Sentencing Commission (NMSC) 
 
SUMMARY 
 
Synopsis of House Bill 128 
 
House Bill 128 requires a person convicted of seven different offenses of criminal sexual 
penetration, criminal sexual contact, and criminal sexual contact of a minor undergo chemical 
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castration treatment as a condition of parole, in addition to any other punishment prescribed for 
that offense or any other provision of law. The person is required to start the procedure a month 
before release and continue treatment until the court decides it is no longer necessary. The person 
must pay for the procedure himself or herself, though release shall not be denied based on an 
inability to pay. HB128 includes provisions to determine indigency. HB128 also requires a 
person released under this section to authorize DOH to share with the parole board all medical 
records relating to this treatment.  
 
A person may elect to stop receiving the treatment at any time and may not be forced to receive 
the treatment, however that refusal shall constitute a parole violation and the person shall be 
immediately remanded to the custody of NMCD for the remainder of the sentence from which 
the person was paroled. A court must inform the person about the effect of the treatment and any 
side effects that may result from it. The person must then acknowledge receipt of the information 
in writing. Only an employee of DOH may administer the treatment. A person who intentionally 
stops receiving the treatment required under this section is also guilty of a fourth degree felony. 
 
This bill does not contain an effective date and, as a result, would go into effect June 16, 2023, 
(90 days after the Legislature adjourns) if signed into law. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS 
 
Incarceration drives costs in the criminal justice system, so any changes in the number of 
individuals in prison and jail and the length of time served in prison and jail that might result 
from this bill could have moderate fiscal impacts. The creation of any new crime, increase of 
felony degree, or increase of sentencing penalties will likely increase the population of New 
Mexico’s prisons and jails, consequently increasing long-term costs to state and county general 
funds. NMCD reports the average cost to incarcerate a single inmate in FY22 was $54.9 
thousand; however, due to the high fixed costs of the state’s prison facilities and administrative 
overhead, LFC estimates a marginal cost (the cost per each additional inmate) of $26.6 thousand 
per year across all facilities. LFC estimates a marginal cost (the cost per each additional inmate) 
of $19.2 thousand per county jail inmate per year, based on incarceration costs at the 
Metropolitan Detention Center. The fourth-degree felony contained in Subsection H could 
increase the number of incarcerated individuals and increase the time they spend incarcerated.  
 
The proposed new fourth-degree felony criminal penalty carries an 18-month prison sentence; 
NMSC estimates the average length of time served by offenders released from prison in FY21 
whose highest charge was for a fourth-degree felony was 516 days. Based on the marginal cost 
of each additional inmate in New Mexico’s prison system, each offender sentenced to prison for 
this crime could result in estimated increased costs of $37.6 thousand to NMCD.  
  
It is difficult to estimate how many individuals will be charged, convicted, or get time in prison 
or jail based on the creation of a new crime. Without additional information, this analysis 
assumes at least one person will be admitted to prison each year for this crime, at a cost of $37.6 
thousand, although it seems possible this penalty could be levied so rarely that the impact could 
be lower. Because the estimated time served is greater than one year, the costs of one year ($26.6 
thousand) would be incurred in the first year of incarceration, while the cost of the remaining 
151 days ($11 thousand) would be incurred in the second year of incarceration. To account for 
time to adjudication, no costs are anticipated to be incurred until one year after the bill takes 
effect, in FY25. Because the estimated time served is greater than one year, costs are anticipated 
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to increase in FY26, as an offender admitted in FY25 serves the remainder of their term and 
another offender is admitted but will level out that same year (as offenders begin to be released 
from prison) and remain level in future fiscal years.  
 
Additional increased system costs beyond incarceration, such as costs to the judicial branch for 
increased trials or to law enforcement to investigate and arrest individuals for the new crimes 
under HB128, are not included in this analysis, but may exist.  
 
Additionally, DOH reports that, due to the requirement in Subsection C that the parolee pay for 
all costs of treatment, assuming 221 participants per year and that 75 percent are able to at least 
cover costs through insurance, Medicaid, or self-pay, total revenue per year would be for 
medication (approximately $1.5 million), testing ($91,163) plus visit ($19,098), or $1,610,261 a 
year.  However, for FY23, assuming approximately three months of revenue (assuming eligible 
individuals enrolled immediately), DOH operating costs would be approximately 25 percent of 
that amount, or $402,565.   
 
Further, based on the provision requiring DOH must administer the treatment, and again 
assuming 221 participants a year, DOH estimates total operating costs of medication 
($2,000,000), testing ($121,550) and PS&EB ($7,912+$16,236+$11,926 = $36,074/year) to be 
$2,157,624 a year.  For FY23, assuming approximately three months of operating costs 
(assuming eligible individuals enrolled immediately), operating costs would be approximately 25 
percent of that yearly amount, or $539,406. DOH also notes there may be additional operating 
costs related to increased liability insurance for DOH providers. 
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
Based on analyses of numerous agencies with expertise in the matters addressed in HB128, a 
number of significant issues arise. 
 
NMAG advises HB128 will be subject to scrutiny under the Eighth amendment of the U.S. 
Constitution, which prohibits cruel and unusual punishment. (Excessive bail shall not be 
required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted, U.S. Const. 
amend. VIII). The New Mexico Constitution includes the same restriction. See N.M. Const. art. 
II, § 13. It goes on to state: 

The New Mexico Supreme Court has held that the state constitution’s prohibition against 
cruel and unusual punishment affords greater protection than its federal counterpart. 
(“Article II, Section 13, prohibiting cruel and unusual punishment, have been interpreted 
as providing greater protection than their federal counterparts. See State v. 
Vallejos, 1997–NMSC–040, ¶¶ 35–38, State v. Rueda, 1999–NMCA–033, ¶¶ 9–14,” 
cited by Montoya v. Ulibarri, 2007-NMSC-035, ¶ 22.). While chemical castration has 
withstood challenges in other states, it is unclear how courts in New Mexico would 
decide if the law was litigated.  

Similarly, LOPD warns HB128 might violate these constitutional prohibitions, citing John F. 
Stinneford, Incapacitation Through Maiming: Chemical Castration, the Eighth Amendment, and 
the Denial of Human Dignity, 3 U. St. Thomas L.J. 559 (2006); and Weems v. United States, 217 
U.S. 349, 404 (1910) (quoting a Georgia case holding that the cruel and unusual punishment 
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clause “was, doubtless, intended to prohibit the barbarities of quartering, hanging in chains, 
castration, etc.”). It notes that the existence of chemical castration laws in other states does not 
mean that HB128 would pass constitutional muster in New Mexico. Further, DOH expresses 
concern it would likely be subject to suit for monetary damages for alleged violations of 
constitution rights, under the New Mexico Civil Rights Act and/or under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.   
 
LOPD calls particular attention to the scope of HB128, which it comments 
 

[HB128] is substantially broader in application than existing chemical castration laws in 
other states. It would impose chemical castration as a mandatory condition of parole for all 
convictions for criminal sexual penetration and criminal sexual contact, with no limitation to 
violent crimes or crimes against minors. By contrast, the laws in other states are more 
selective. For example, based on a brief review of other states’ statutes: 

 Alabama Code § 15-22-27.4 limits chemical castration to sex offenses against a 
person under the age of 13;  

 California Penal Code § 645(a) allows, but does not require, chemical castration for 
some violent sex crimes where the victim is under the age of 13. It becomes 
mandatory upon a second conviction;  

 Florida § 794.0235(1)(a) allows, but does not require, courts to impose chemical 
castration as a condition of parole when a defendant has been convicted of “sexual 
battery,” which appears to require penetration, not just sexual contact. FSA § 
794.011(1) (j). Chemical castration becomes mandatory on a section offense, § 
794.0235(1) (b). However, a court-appointed medical expert must determine that the 
defendant is an appropriate candidate for treatment. § 794.0235(2)(a); 

 Louisiana Revised Statues § 538(C) limits chemical castration to second offenses or 
crimes against children under the age of 13, and chemical castration is discussed as 
part of a broader “treatment plan”; it is not mandatory; and  

 Montana Code § 45-5-512 appears to have only discretionary chemical castration, not 
mandatory provisions.  

 
NMSC also raises similar concerns about the breadth of the bill’s coverage.  It notes the various 
crimes encompassed by Sections 30-9-11 through 30-9-13 NMSA 1978 run the gamut of crimes: 
from a misdemeanor to the first degree felony of aggravated criminal sexual penetration (life 
imprisonment). Because HB128 makes no distinction between these vastly differing crimes, 
NMSC believes it would likely violate the cruel and unusual punishment provisions of the US 
and New Mexico Constitutions. 

 
Additionally, LOPD points out that all other states’ laws requiring this form of treatment define 
or at least give examples of the drugs that could be administered to sex offenders. It believes that 
the differences between those laws and HB128 suggest that HB128 might be unconstitutional 
even though these narrower chemical castration laws are in effect in other states.  
 
As to the individual provisions of HB128, LOPD asserts the bill is ambiguous or confusing in 
several instances: 
 

1) HB128 imposes chemical castration “as a condition of parole” for any person 
convicted of an offense in Sections 30-9-11 through 30-9-13. But not every person 
convicted under these statutes will be subject to parole, and it is not clear whether or how 
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HB128 would apply to people who were convicted of the specified crimes but not placed 
on parole.  
 
There are two forms of parole that defendants might have to serve. In either case, a 
person is paroled only after serving a prison sentence. The person might have fully 
completed his sentence, or he might have received a partially suspended sentence (in 
which case the person is simultaneously on probation and parole). The two forms of 
parole are: 

 Sex offender parole, defined in Section 31-21-10.1, which would apply to people 
who served a prison sentence for any of several sex offenses: aggravated criminal 
sexual penetration, first- through third-degree criminal sexual penetration (§ 30-9-
11(C)-(F)), or second- through fourth-degree criminal sexual contact of a minor (§ 
30-9-13(B)-(D)). People may be on sex offender parole for an indeterminate term 
of 5-20 years or 5 years to life. Section 31-21-10.1(A).  

 Ordinary parole for a felony not subject to sex offender parole, such as fourth-
degree criminal sexual penetration (§ 30-9-11(G)) or fourth-degree criminal 
sexual contact of an adult (§ 30-9-12(C)). In either of those cases, the person’s 
prison sentence would be followed by a one-year period of parole. Section 31-21-
10(D).  

 
However, if a person is given a fully suspended sentence and is not sent to prison, the 
person is not placed on parole, although they would be placed on comparable probation. 
A person would also not be subject to parole for a conviction for misdemeanor criminal 
sexual contact of an adult under Section 30-9-12(D). Since HB128 requires chemical 
castration only “as a condition of parole,” it appears not to apply to people who are 
convicted of the listed sex offenses but never placed on parole.  
 
2) Subsection B says that chemical castration will begin at least a month before a parolee 
is released from prison and shall continue “until the court determines that the treatment is 
no longer necessary.” It is not clear which court would make this determination or how 
this review would be triggered. The district court that imposes the initial sentence is not 
involved in the parole process; decisions about conditions of parole, parole violations, 
etc. are made by the parole board rather than a court. HB128 also gives no guidance 
about how a court would determine that treatment was not necessary, which factors the 
court would consider, or what burden of proof would apply. 
 
Subsection B also does not address what would happen if a person were released from 
parole without ever obtaining this finding from a court. Presumably, since chemical 
castration is a condition of parole, the person could stop taking chemical castration drugs 
once he was released from parole, but HB128 does not actually say this.  
 
3) Subsection E says that if a person chooses not to be chemically castrated, it will be 
treated as a parole violation, and the person will be remanded to prison “for the remainder 
of the sentence from which the person was paroled.” It is not clear what this means. 
Many parolees will have fully finished serving their underlying sentences before they 
begin parole. If the bill means that they will be remanded for the remainder of their 
parole terms, this is likely to be an extraordinarily long sentence—if the person is serving 
sex offender parole, the minimum term is five years, and the maximum term is either 20 
years or the rest of the person’s life. See § 31-21-10.1(A).  
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If the bill means that the person would be remanded for the remainder of the underlying 
sentence, this is also a confusing outcome. Imposing the remainder of a suspended 
sentence usually requires finding a violation of probation rather than parole. Probation 
and parole often impose similar conditions (although this bill would add a big condition 
to parole), and a parolee often has one combined probation/parole officer, but the 
processes for finding a violation are different in the two systems. A defendant charged 
with a probation violation is entitled to a hearing in court, with a lawyer to represent him, 
and the judge determines whether a violation has been committed and what the penalty 
should be. A parole violation is judged by the parole board, and the defendant is not 
entitled to a lawyer. Revoking a person’s suspended sentence through a parole process 
rather than a probation process could lead to due process challenges in court.  

 
Similarly, NMAG notes that the crimes to which this bill applies do not have mandatory 
incarceration terms, so there would not necessarily be a parole term.  Thus, the legislative intent 
is unclear as to impact of HB128, if at all, to situations where there is no term of incarceration. 
Again, NMAG points to conflicts arising from the indeterminate nature of a sex offender’s 
parole term:  an initial five year parole is served, followed by a review hearing by the parole 
board, and review hearings may continue at 2 ½ year increments.  That process, NMAG points 
out, conflicts with Subsection B, which directs that a court determine when treatment is no 
longer necessary. Additionally, sex offenders may have concurrent supervision with probation 
and parole, which operate independently.  An offender may be released from probation 
supervision but required to stay on parole supervision, and vice versa.  If chemical castration is a 
condition of parole, it would be monitored and enforced by the parole board; if it is a condition 
of probation, it is enforced by the court.  
 
NMCD calls attention to another confusing provision of the bill.  Subsection D directs a court 
determine indigency, but advises that in New Mexico, it is the parole board and not the courts 
that is the entity that may consider whether a parolee is indigent. 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS  
 
NMCD notes that DOH is to administer the treatment, but the bill gives no direction as to 
coordination between NMCD’s prisons and probation and parole divisions in order to provide 
access and monitoring. 
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
NMSC adds this analysis to the discussion concerning other states’ chemical castration laws: 
 

Only a few states have some sort of chemical castration law on the books. Only three – 
California, Florida, and most recently (2019) Alabama – make it mandatory. In 
California, the law is used for repeat sex offenders whose victims were under 13. Florida 
makes it mandatory for repeat offenders. Alabama makes it mandatory when the victim is 
under 13. HB128 appears to be based on Alabama’s law, but is far more wide-ranging. A 
summary of state laws can be found in the FindLaw article “Chemical and Surgical 
Castration for Sex Offenders”, available at: https://www.findlaw.com/criminal/criminal-
charges/chemical-and-surgical-castration.html. By all accounts, the chemical castration 
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laws in the states where it is possible have been rarely used. Critics of the existing laws 
note their possible violation of the cruel and unusual punishment, rights to privacy, and 
medical ethics.  
 
 

LOPD also points out that the term “chemical castration” is never defined, and it is not clear 
which drugs a parolee might be required to take under this statute. It suggests the medical risks to 
parolees are impossible to evaluate without this information—which might further support the 
constitutional challenge discussed above. In addition, it comments on the practical concerns of 
chemical castration, be it voluntary or mandatory: 
 

Most chemical castration methods would effectively reduce the sex drive and the seminal 
fluid in a male. This does not, however, guarantee the elimination of sexual violence or 
aggressive behavior.  Critically, the consensus appears to be that as punishment levied 
involuntarily against sex offenders, chemical castration alone may not be effective and 
comes with a host of medical-ethical concerns. When chemical castration is employed as 
a “treatment” for sexually aggressive behavior, any success comes when it is part of 
voluntary plan that includes assessment and supportive psychotherapy.  But mandatory 
chemical castration is not a cure-all to prevent sexual crimes. See Lee JY, Cho KS. 
Chemical castration for sexual offenders: physicians' views. J Korean Med Sci. 2013 Feb; 
28(2):171-2; Warda Imran, How effective a punishment is 'chemical castration’? (March 
15, 2021), available at https://www.dw.com/en/combating-sexual-violence-is-chemical-
castration-a-valid-method/a-56839505. 

 
DOH calls attention to significant ethical concerns raised by this bill. It notes that some critics 
contend that chemical castration laws are improperly coercive to inmates, who might be forced 
to choose between staying in prison and taking the drug.  Concerns about side effects and 
whether prisoners receive enough information to make appropriate, informed decisions also 
exist. What 
 
Finally, DOH notes it is unclear if women who have been convicted of these offenses would be 
expected to participate in the program.  It also suggests that participation for transgender persons 
may need to be addressed. 
 
MD/ne/al          


