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SUMMARY 
 
     Synopsis of Senate Floor Amendment #1 
 
Senate Floor Amendment #1 to House Bill 169 makes the following changes: 

 Requires the board to request an individual voluntarily cease and desist from holding out 
as a social worker, practicing social work without a license, or otherwise violating the 
Social Work Practice Act; 

 Allowing the board to apply for an injunction in district court if the board’s efforts to gain 
cooperation from an individual are unsuccessful or if the board deems the situation an 
emergency; and 

 Repeals Section 61-31-2 NMS 1978, the purpose of Social Work Practice Act, and 
Section 61-31-23 NMSA 1978, which allows the board to apply for an injunction. 

 
     Synopsis of Original Bill 
 
House Bill 169 amends the Social Work Practice Act in the following ways: 

 Prohibits the practice of social work by unqualified persons; 
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 Defines client, consultation, continuing education, and supervision; 
 Clarifies only licensed clinical social workers or licensed independent social worker can 

provide supervision for those social workers who are seeking supervision in order to 
become licensed as a licensed clinical social worker or a licensed independent social 
worker;   

 Allows individuals interested in serving on the board to submit their resumes to the 
governor; 

 Allows for electronic participation in board meetings; 
 Adds language which allows the governor to remove any member of the board for social 

work code of ethics or professional standards of practice violations in addition to the 
reasons previously listed; 

 Gives the board authority to issue a cease and desist order to an individual who is not a 
licensed social worker New Mexico but who is acting in a social work role or who  is 
practicing social work;  

 Broadens the board’s authority to define what appropriate supervision for a person 
seeking independent or clinical licensure; 

 Allows the board to determine the appropriate application of technology to social work 
practice;     

 Allows applicants with a bachelor’s or master’s degree in social work to obtain a 
provisional license for up to one year; 

 Extends the sunset date for the board to July 1, 2025; 
 Adds a section outlining the requirements to be licensed as an independent social worker.  

A licensed independent social worker shall be at least 18 years of age, possess at least a 
master’s degree in social work,  have completed the number of hours required of 
postgraduate social work experience under appropriate supervision, have completed 
training in New Mexico cultures as specified by the board, have completed a 
jurisprudence examination specified by the board, and passed the Association of Social 
Work Boards’ advanced generalist examination or other examination approved by the 
board; 

 Adds a section outlining the requirements to be licensed as a clinical social worker. A 
licensed clinical social worker shall be at least 18 years of age, possess at least a master’s 
degree in social work, have completed the number of hours required of postgraduate 
social work experience under appropriate supervision, have completed training in New 
Mexico cultures as specified by the board, have completed a jurisprudence examination 
specified by the board, and passed the Association of Social Work Boards’ clinical 
examination or other examination approved by the board; 

 Adds a section outlining the requirements to be licensed as a master of social work. A 
licensed master of social work shall be at least 18 years of age, possess at least a master’s 
degree in social work, have completed training in New Mexico cultures as specified by 
the board, have completed a jurisprudence examination specified by the board, and 
passed the Association of Social Work Boards’ master’s examination or other 
examination approved by the board; 

 Adds a section outlining the requirements to be licensed as a bachelor of social work. A 
licensed bachelor of social work shall be at least 18 years of age, possess at least a 
baccalaureate degree in social work, have completed training in New Mexico cultures as 
specified by the board, have completed a jurisprudence examination specified by the 
board, and passed the Association of Social Work Boards’ bachelor’s of social work 
examination or other examination approved by the board; 
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 Repeals Section 61-31-9 NMSA 1978, which outlines the requirements for each level of 
licensure; 

 Repeals Section 61-31-12 NMSA 1978, which allows licensure without written 
examinations if an applicant meets certain requirements; and 

 Repeals Section 61-31-13.1 NMSA 1978, which allows temporary licensure for a period 
of 6 months or the amount of time necessary for the board to ensure the applicant has met 
the licensure requirements. 

 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
There are no identified fiscal implications. 
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
Giving the board authority to issue a cease and desist order to an individual who is not a licensed 
social worker New Mexico but who is acting in a social work role or who  is practicing social 
work will help the board protect the public from unlicensed practice. 
 
Allowing board members to attend meetings telephonically will ensure the board has a quorum 
to conduct business at scheduled board meetings. 
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