AN ACT

RELATING TO ELECTIONS; RENUMBERING PRECINCTS IN SECTION

35-1-27 NMSA 1978 (BEING LAWS 1968, CHAPTER 62, SECTION 29, AS

AMENDED) TO COINCIDE WITH THE CURRENT PRECINCT NUMBERS USED IN

SAN JUAN COUNTY; REDISTRICTING MAGISTRATE DIVISIONS IN SAN

JUAN COUNTY.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 35-1-27 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, Chapter 62, Section 29, as amended) is amended to read:

"35-1-27. MAGISTRATE COURT--SAN JUAN DISTRICT ELECTION
DIVISION PRECINCTS.--

- A. There shall be six magistrate divisions in San Juan magistrate district, each division having its own magistrate. Divisions 1, 4 and 6 shall operate as a single court in Aztec and divisions 2, 3 and 5 shall operate as a single court in Farmington.
- B. Magistrate judges shall not be elected at large from the district, but shall be elected by the voters of the division for which the magistrate sits. Magistrate judges may reside anywhere within the magistrate district and shall have district-wide jurisdiction. The composition of the divisions for elections purposes is:
- (1) division 1 is composed of San Juan county precincts 41, 48, 55, 57, 58, 60 through 67 and 72;

- (2) division 2 is composed of San Juan county precincts 1 through 7, 20, 21, 23, 24 and 50;
- (3) division 3 is composed of San Juan county precincts 28, 31, 32, 38 through 40, 42 through 44, 46, 47, 49 and 59;
- (4) division 4 is composed of San Juan county precincts 8 through 19, 52, 53, 71 and 77;
- (5) division 5 is composed of San Juan county precincts 22, 25 through 27, 29, 30, 33 through 37, 45 and 51; and
- (6) division 6 is composed of San Juan county precincts 54, 56, 68 through 70 and 73 through 76." HJC/HB 368 Page 2