1	HOUSE BILL 525
2	51ST LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2013
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Yvette Herrell
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO COMMUNITY ASSISTANCE; INCREASING THE NUMBER OF
12	MEMBERS ON THE NEW MEXICO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL.
13	
14	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
15	SECTION 1. Section 11-6-4 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1977,
16	Chapter 299, Section 4, as amended) is amended to read:
17	"11-6-4. NEW MEXICO COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL
18	ESTABLISHEDAPPOINTMENTTERMSOFFICERS
19	A. The "New Mexico community development council"
20	is created.
21	B. The council shall consist of:
22	(1) the secretary of finance and
23	administration or a member of [his] <u>the secretary's</u> staff
24	designated by [him] the secretary;
25	(2) the governor or a member of [his] <u>the</u>
	.192893.1

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

1	governor's staff designated by [him] the governor;
2	(3) the secretary of health [and environment]
3	or a member of [his] <u>the secretary's</u> staff designated by [him]
4	the secretary;
5	(4) the secretary of environment or a member
6	of the secretary's staff designated by the secretary;
7	(5) the secretary of economic development or a
8	member of the secretary's staff designated by the secretary;
9	[(4)] <u>(6)</u> the lieutenant governor or a member
10	of [his] <u>the lieutenant governor's</u> staff designated by [him]
11	the lieutenant governor; and
12	[(5)] <u>(7)</u> seven members appointed by the
13	governor. Appointments shall be made for three-year terms
14	expiring on January l of the appropriate year. Each of the
15	following districts shall be represented by one member who
16	shall reside in that district:
17	(a) district one: San Juan, McKinley
18	and Cibola counties;
19	(b) district two: Rio Arriba, Santa Fe,
20	Taos, Los Alamos, Colfax, Mora and San Miguel counties;
21	(c) district three: Bernalillo,
22	Sandoval, Torrance and Valencia counties;
23	(d) district four: Union, Harding,
24	Quay, Guadalupe, DeBaca, Roosevelt and Curry counties;
25	(e) district five: Catron, Hidalgo,
	.192893.1 - 2 -

[bracketed material] = delete <u>underscored material = new</u>

1 Luna and Grant counties; 2 (f) district six: Lincoln, Otero, Chaves, Eddy and Lea counties; and 3 district seven: Sierra, Dona Ana 4 (g) and Socorro counties. 5 Appointment of the two additional members provided for in the 6 7 1984 amendment to this subsection shall be for terms expiring on January 1, 1986 and January 1, 1987, and thereafter for 8 9 three years. An appointed member's term may be terminated by 10 C. the governor for good cause shown. 11 12 D. Appointed members shall serve [in office] until their successors are appointed unless sooner removed according 13 14 to law. If a vacancy occurs in the office of an [approved] appointed member by death, resignation or otherwise, the 15 governor shall appoint a successor to serve for the balance of 16 the unexpired term. 17 Ε. The governor shall select one member to be 18 19 [chairman] chair of the council. The council shall select such 20 other officers as it deems necessary." - 3 -21 22 23 24 25 .192893.1

bracketed material] = delete

underscored material = new