SENATE	TOT NT	<b>RESOLUTION</b>	14

46TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2004

INTRODUCED BY

Manny M. Aragon

A JOINT RESOLUTION

PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE 11, SECTION 1 OF THE
CONSTITUTION OF NEW MEXICO TO PROVIDE FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF
TWO MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION BY THE GOVERNOR
AND TO ESTABLISH THREE ELECTORAL DISTRICTS.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. It is proposed to amend Article 11, Section 1 of the constitution of New Mexico to read:

"A. The "public regulation commission" is created.

The commission shall consist of five members. Three of the members shall be elected from districts as established pursuant to Subsection B of this section and as provided by law for staggered four-year terms beginning on January 1 of the year following their election; provided that those chosen at the first general election after the adoption of this section shall

. 151442. 1

immediately classify themselves by lot, so that [two] one of them shall hold office for two years and [three] two of them for four years; and further provided that, after serving two terms, members shall be ineligible to hold office as a commission member until one full term has intervened. Two positions on the commission shall be filled by appointment of the governor and confirmed by the senate. At the first meeting after commissioners have been elected, a chairman shall be elected by the commission from among the commissioners. The chairman shall serve for two years. No commissioner, [or] candidate or appointee for the commission shall accept anything of value from a person or entity whose charges for services to the public are regulated by the commission.

B. Following the approval by the voters of this amendment, public regulation commission districts shall remain as described in Paragraphs (1) through (3) of this subsection until the legislature redistricts by law following the next federal decennial census. Thereafter, districts shall be set by law once after each federal decennial census. Precinct designations and boundaries used in this amendment are those established and approved by the secretary of state as of January 1, 2003.

(1) Commissioner district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 4 through 18, 20 through 30, 32 through 56, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 82, 83, 86, 88, 90 . 151442.1

through 99, 101 through 107, 110 through 112, 114, 119 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 274, 278, 281, 311, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371, 374, 375, 381 through 387, 431 through 433, 435 through 438 and 442 through 444; Catron county; Dona Ana county; Grant county; Hi dal go county; Luna county; Si erra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county.

(2) Commissioner district two is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 275, 282 through 287, 289 through 308, 312 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 372, 373, 400 through 430, 434, 439 through 441, 445 through 447, 449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 566, 568, 569, 571, 573 and 601 through 603; Chaves county; Curry county; De Baca county; Eddy county; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Otero county; Quay county; Roosevelt county; Torrance county; and Union county.

(3) Commissioner district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 3, 19, 31, 57, 80, 81, 84, 85, 87, 89, 113, 115, 116 and 567; Cibola county; Colfax county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora county; Rio Arriba county; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval county; Santa Fe county; and Taos county."

. 151442. 1

Section 2. The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the next general election or at any special election prior to that date that may be called for that purpose.

- 4 -