1	SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 9
2	46TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2004
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Carlos R. Cisneros
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	A JOINT RESOLUTION
11	PROPOSING TO AMEND ARTICLE 10, SECTION 2 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF
12	NEW MEXICO TO LIMIT COUNTY OFFICIALS TO THREE CONSECUTIVE TERMS
13	INSTEAD OF TWO.
14	
15	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
16	Section 1. It is proposed to amend Article 10, Section 2
17	of the constitution of New Mexico to read:
18	"A. In every county all elected officials shall serve
19	four-year terms, subject to the provisions of Subsection B of
20	this section.
21	B. In those counties that prior to 1992 have not had
22	four-year terms for elected officials, the assessor, sheriff
23	and probate judge shall be elected to four-year terms and the
24	treasurer and clerk shall be elected to two-year terms in the
25	first election following the adoption of this amendment. In
	.150163.1

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

1 subsequent elections, the treasurer and clerk shall be elected 2 to four-year terms.

C. To provide for staggered county commission terms, in counties with three county commissioners, the terms of no more than two commissioners shall expire in the same year; and in counties with five county commissioners, the terms of no more than three commissioners shall expire in the same year.

D. All county officers, after having served [two] three consecutive four-year terms, shall be ineligible to hold any county office for two years thereafter."

Section 2. The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the next general election or at any special election prior to that date that may be called for that purpose.

- 2 -

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

.150163.1