1	HOUSE MEMORIAL 4
2	46TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2004
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Donald L. Whitaker
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	A MEMORIAL
11	DECLARING FEBRUARY 2, 2004 AS "COMMUNITY COLLEGE DAY" IN THE
12	LEGISLATURE AND RECOGNIZING THE 2004 COMMUNITY COLLEGE
13	ALL- STATE ACADEMIC TEAM
14	
15	WHEREAS, community colleges in New Mexico are
16	strategically located around the state for easy access to the
17	post-secondary and lifelong learning needs of our citizens; and
18	WHEREAS, community colleges now educate and train over
19	sixty-seven thousand New Mexicans in credit programs, or fifty-
20	five percent of the total higher education student population,
21	and another estimated ninety thousand New Mexicans in noncredit
22	adult and continuing education; and
23	WHEREAS, community colleges play an important role in
24	local, regional and statewide efforts in literacy training,
25	workforce development, economic development and welfare reform;
	. 149908. 1

<u>underscored mterial = new</u> [<del>bracketed mterial</del>] = delete 1

2

3

4

[bracketed material] = delete

underscored mterial = new

and

WHEREAS, community colleges are committed to teaching excellence and enabling students to excel in their academic and career development;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that in recognition
of the importance of community colleges in New Mexico, February
2, 2004 be designated "Community College Day" in the
legislature; and

10 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the nominated community college academic all-state team, consisting of the following 11 12 students, be recognized by the house of representatives: Juanita Moya and Alexandra Von Ausdall, Albuquerque 13 Technical-Vocational Institute - Main Campus; 14 Sue McLeod, Clovis Community College; 15 Jeneva Dearing and David Smith, Eastern New Mexico 16 University, Roswell; 17 Diana Dawn Tillman and Lisa G. Wright, Eastern New 18 Mexico University, Ruidoso; 19 Rebecca Chavez and Brenda Copeland, Luna Community 20 College: 21 Reynaldo Maestas and Joyce Runyan, Mesalands 22 Community College; 23 Clyde Jones and Jennifer Pyeatt, New Mexico Junior 24 College; 25

. 149908. 1

1	Hadyn Reid, New Mexico Military Institute;
2	Diana Green and Richard Owen, New Mexico State
3	Uni versi ty, Al amogordo;
4	Deborah Paulson and Paula Wallace, New Mexico State
5	University, Carlsbad;
6	Dustin Bierman and Olivia Halvorsen, New Mexico
7	State University, Dona Ana;
8	Nicole Lujan and Ana Martinez, Northern New Mexico
9	Community College;
10	Faith Knorr, San Juan College;
11	Linda Tarango, Santa Fe Community College;
12	Rory Shaw and Robert Wauneka, Jr., Southwestern
13	Indian Polytechnic Institute;
14	Peter Leslie, University of New Mexico, Gallup;
15	Sarah Braun and Ignacia Lucero, University of New
16	Mexico, Los Alamos; and
17	Ramon Gallegos and Lorenzo Ibarra, University of New
18	Mexico, Valencia.
19	- 3 -
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
	. 149908. 1

[bracketed muterial] = delete

<u>underscored mterial = new</u>