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SUMMARY 
 

Synopsis of Bill 
 
Senate Memorial 22 requests the Taxation and Revenue Department (TRD) and the Economic 
Development Department (EDD) to study and consider raising or eliminating the $30 thousand 
cap per individual in the New Mexico Homestead Exemption Law in order to promote the pro-
tection of New Mexico families from economic devastation. 
  
TRD and EDD must make recommendations regarding this situation and report their findings to 
the legislative leadership. 
      

Significant Issues 
 
Filings for bankruptcy within New Mexico have risen to unprecedented levels for three straight 
years, increasing from 8,669 in 2001 to 9,782 in 2003.  
 
The national economy has shown some signs of revival but has been slow to create adequate em-
ployment opportunities for many New Mexico families. 
 
Many retirees who live in New Mexico have suffered stock-market losses over the past three 
years, causing them to file for bankruptcy, and it is desirable and beneficial for retirees who live 
in New Mexico to have some protection from economic downturns. 
 
 The most valuable asset for most citizens is their home. 
 
Current state law allows only $30 thousand worth of protection per individual per home and only 
$60 thousand worth of protection per couple per home, and the median price of a home in New 
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Mexico, according to the 2000 federal decennial census, is $108 thousand.  
 
Other states, including Arizona, Florida and Nevada, have homestead exemptions offering 
greater degrees of protection than those found in New Mexico. 
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