A MEMORIAL

DECLARING FEBRUARY 2, 2004 AS "COMMUNITY COLLEGE DAY" IN THE LEGISLATURE AND RECOGNIZING THE 2004 COMMUNITY COLLEGE ALL-STATE ACADEMIC TEAM.

WHEREAS, community colleges in New Mexico are strategically located around the state for easy access to the post-secondary and lifelong learning needs of our citizens; and

WHEREAS, community colleges now educate and train over sixty-seven thousand New Mexicans in credit programs, or fifty-five percent of the total higher education student population, and another estimated ninety thousand New Mexicans in noncredit adult and continuing education; and

WHEREAS, community colleges play an important role in local, regional and statewide efforts in literacy training, workforce development, economic development and welfare reform; and

WHEREAS, community colleges are committed to teaching excellence and enabling students to excel in their academic and career development;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that in recognition of the importance of community colleges in New Mexico, February 2, 2004 be designated "Community College Day" in the legislature; and

1	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the nominated community
2	college academic all-state team, consisting of the following
3	students, be recognized by the senate:
4	Juanita Moya and Alexandra Von Ausdall, Albuquerque
5	Technical-Vocational Institute - Main Campus;
6	Sue McLeod, Clovis Community College;
7	Jeneva Dearing and David Smith, Eastern New Mexico
8	University, Roswell;
9	Diana Dawn Tillman and Lisa G. Wright, Eastern New
10	Mexico University, Ruidoso;
11	Rebecca Chavez and Brenda Copeland, Luna Community
12	College;
13	Reynaldo Maestas and Joyce Runyan, Mesalands
14	Community College;
15	Clyde Jones and Jennifer Pyeatt, New Mexico Junior
16	College;
17	Hadyn Reid, New Mexico Military Institute;
18	Diana Green and Richard Owen, New Mexico State
19	University, Alamogordo;
20	Deborah Paulson and Paula Wallace, New Mexico State
21	University, Carlsbad;
22	Dustin Bierman and Olivia Halvorsen, New Mexico
23	State University, Dona Ana;
24	Nicole Lujan and Ana Martinez, Northern New Mexico
25	Community College;

1	Faith Knorr, San Juan College;	
2	Linda Tarango, Santa Fe Community College;	
3	Rory Shaw and Robert Wauneka, Jr., Southwestern	
4	Indian Polytechnic Institute;	
5	Peter Leslie, University of New Mexico, Gallup;	
6	Sarah Braun and Ignacia Lucero, University of New	
7	Mexico, Los Alamos; and	
8	Ramon Gallegos and Lorenzo Ibarra, University of New	
9	Mexico, Valencia	SM 5
10		Page 3
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		