SENATE BILL 624

46TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2004

INTRODUCED BY

Manny M. Aragon

5

1

2

3

6 7

8

a

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24 25 AN ACT

RELATING TO THE REDISTRICTING OF THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS; ESTABLISHING CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED.--New Mexico is divided
into three congressional districts to be known and designated
as congressional district one, congressional district two and
congressional district three.

Section 2. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS.--

A. Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 4 through 18, 20 through 30, 32
.149264.1

through 56, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 82, 83, 86, 88, 90 through 99, 101 through 107, 110 through 112, 114, 119 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 274, 278, 281, 311, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371, 374, 375, 381 through 387, 431 through 433, 435 through 438 and 442 through 444; Catron county; Dona Ana county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Luna county; Sierra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county.

B. Congressional district two is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 275, 282 through 287, 289 through
308, 312 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 372,
373, 400 through 430, 434, 439 through 441, 445 through 447,
449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through
500, 502 through 566, 568, 569, 571, 573 and 601 through 603;
Chaves county; Curry county; De Baca county; Eddy county;
Guadalupe county; Harding county; Lea county; Lincoln county;
Otero county; Quay county; Roosevelt county; Torrance county;
and Union county.

C. Congressional district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 3, 19, 31, 57, 80, 81, 84, 85, 87, 89, 113, 115, 116 and 567; Cibola county; Colfax county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora county; Rio Arriba county; Sandoval county; Santa Fe county; San Juan .149264.1

new	delet
II	II
1 material	material]
underscored	[bracketed

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

county; San Miguel county; and Taos county.

Section 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2004 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] January 1, 2003.

В. [The boards] A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district [nor] and shall [the boards of county commissioners] not divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in [any general, primary or other] a statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

TEMPORARY PROVISION -- COMPILATION. -- The Section 4. compiler shall remove from the compilation Section 1-15-15.1 NMSA 1978, which was compiled by the compiler to reflect the lst judicial district court order in Jespen v. Vigil-Giron, D-0101-CV-2001-02177.

Section 5. REPEAL.--Laws 1982 (2nd S.S.), Chapter 4, .149264.1