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SUMMARY

     Synopsis of Bill

The Ignition Interlock Device bill extends the period of probation for first-time DWI offenders from a
maximum of one year to a maximum of two years.  The bill also requires the mandatory installation of
an ignition interlock device for the period of one year on the motor vehicle primarily driven by the
offender.  The offender is responsible for all costs relating to the installation and operation of the
ignition interlock device. 

     Significant Issues

This bill could lead to a transfer of federal highway funds.  Additionally, agencies report potentially
significant administrative implications.   
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FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

SHTD reports that if the state laws relating to repeat DWI offenders do not meet federal regulations,
the state will be subject to transfer of federal highway construction funds.  Currently, New Mexico
law is not in compliance with three out of four federal requirements for mandatory penalties applied
to DWI repeat offenders.  See Technical Issues below.  Amount to be transferred is 1.5% of federal
highway construction funds (approximately $3 million dollars) to the Traffic Safety Program or
Hazard Elimination Program in federal fiscal year 2002.  The transfer increases to 3.0% (approxi-
mately $6 million dollars) in federal fiscal year 2003 and each year thereafter. 

See also Administrative Implications below.  
 
ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS

The SHTD currently certifies Ignition Interlock providers in New Mexico.  There could be a need to
certify additional providers to meet increased demand for the Ignition Interlock Device.   

The Public Defender Department reports that increased penalties lead to a greater number of trials and
higher costs for the criminal justice system.  

The Bernalillo County Metropolitan Court reports that it is concerned whether the court is required to
confirm and/or periodically monitor all of the first-time DWI offenders who were convicted in this
Court to assure that they have these devices installed, "on the appropriate motor vehicles", for the
required one-year period.  If such confirmation/monitoring is required by the Court, then the Bill will
have a tremendous impact on our Probation Division.  The following three circumstances should be
noted:  1) The Bernalillo County Metro Court hears approximately 1/3 of all the criminal cases
annually filed in N. M.; 2) mandatory installation for every 1st time DWI offender in Bernalillo
County would exponentially increase the incidence of such installations of these devices now
occurring under present law; and, 3) the Probation Division would have to hire numerous more staff
to perform these new, additional monitoring tasks.   

TECHNICAL ISSUES

SHTD recommends the following amendments to meet Federal requirements:

1. Page 4, line 19 & 20, delete the words "seventy-two consecutive hours" and replace with "five
consecutive days."

2. Page 6, creating a new section "J" to include mandatory immobilization, impoundment, or
ignition interlock for subsequent offenders.  SB 305 and HB 381 have the following language
that meets federal requirements:

Upon any subsequent conviction pursuant to this section, an offender shall be required to have
all motor vehicles owned by the offender impounded or immobilized for the period that the
offender's driver's license is revoked or have an ignition interlock device installed and
operated for a period of six months following reinstatement of his driver's license on all motor
vehicles owned by the offender or available for the offender's personal use pursuant to rules
adopted by the bureau.  The offender shall pay all costs associated with immobilizing or
impounding his motor vehicles or having an ignition interlock device installed on the
appropriate motor vehicles. 
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OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES

TRD reports that the MVD may revoke a license for DWI after an administrative procedure under
Section 66-8-112, but does not have the same power to require an ignition interlock device.  This,
along a a court’s possible lack of information regarding previous administrative proceedings, may
create conflicting messages to a defendant and inconsistencies in the law.  
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