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PAYDAY LENDING STATUTES:  A STATE-BY-STATE COMPARISON

INTRODUCTION

The payday loan industry was the subject of
bills during the 2004, 2005 and 2006 legislative
sessions and of a governor's task force convened
during the 2005 interim. One proposal in 2006
made it through the House and two Senate
committees only to die on the floor of the Senate
in the last hours of the session. The Financial
Institutions Division (FID) of the Regulation and
Licensing Department has promulgated rules
pursuant to the New Mexico Small Loan Act of
1955 to regulate the payday loan industry. This
bulletin provides background information on how
other states regulate the payday loan industry,
summarizes the new FID rules and poses policy
considerations for New Mexico legislators.

TWO EXTREMES

 When it comes to regulating payday loans,1

the extreme approaches are either to ban the
industry completely or to permit the industry to
operate without state regulation. Since the repeal
of New Mexico's general usury statutes, payday
lending in New Mexico has essentially been
unregulated by the state. The other state that does
not significantly regulate the payday loan industry
appears to be Wisconsin. Although 10 states do
not specifically regulate the payday loan industry,
they may implicitly ban payday lending through
interest rate caps (usury laws) that make payday
loans economically infeasible. Only Georgia and
West Virginia have specifically banned the

payday loan industry.  Thirty-six states2

specifically regulate the payday loan industry.

CRITICAL CRITERIA

In looking at the regulatory framework
imposed on the payday loan industry in other
states, there are a number of critical
characteristics that dramatically affect the impact
of those laws. The following sections review
those critical criteria and show the range of
restrictions imposed by those states.

LOAN AMOUNTS

Most states regulating payday loans impose
a cap on the amount of payday loans that can be
incurred by a consumer.  States differ on whether
such caps are on the total amount that can be
borrowed by a consumer, or whether caps apply
only to the amount of a single transaction or the
amount that can be loaned by a single lender.
Single-transaction caps range from $300 to $800.
Limits on the amount that can be loaned by any
one lender range from $300 to $1,000. Some
states impose limits only on the total amount that
can be borrowed by a consumer, and those limits
are expressed either in dollar amounts (from a
maximum of $300 to $1,000) or as a percentage
of income (25 percent of net monthly income to
25 percent of gross monthly income).  Several
states combine these caps in  different ways.
Three states impose a minimum loan amount of
$50.00.

     "Payday loans" refers to loans in which a lender
1

accepts a personal check or debit authorization from a

consumer and agrees to defer presentment of that check

or use of the debit authorization until the consumer's next

payday or another agreed-upon date.

    In Georgia, payday lending is declared by statute to
2

be a public nuisance.
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NUMBER OF LOANS

A majority of the states regulating payday
loans impose a limit on the number of loans that
can be incurred by a consumer. The limit may be
either on the number of loans from a single
lender (ranging from one to three loans) or on the
total number of loans a consumer may have at
one time (either one or two loans) or within a
specified time period.

VERIFICATION

Whenever there is a limit on the number or
amount of payday loans that may be entered into
by a consumer at one time, the question of
verification arises. How is a lender to know
whether a requested loan will exceed the
statutory limits on the number or amount of
payday loans? A majority of the states do not
address this issue, thereby putting lenders at risk
of unknowingly violating loan restrictions. Other
states simply require the consumer to certify the
number and amount of outstanding payday loans
and the consumer's gross or net monthly income.
While such a certification may protect the lender
from penalties for violating loan restrictions,
there is no assurance that the consumer's
certification is accurate. Seven states provide for
a mandatory electronic, real-time database that
can be used to verify a consumer's eligibility for
a payday loan.

FEES

Perhaps the characteristic of payday loans
with the highest profile is the fees incurred for
such loans. Permitted fee structures vary greatly
from state to state. Some states impose a flat limit
on fees ranging from 10 percent to 25 percent of
the principal amount of the loan. Other states
have a sliding scale of permitted fees with a
reduced percentage applying to loan proceeds in
excess of specified benchmark amounts. Several
states permit a lender to impose an administrative
fee in an amount of $5.00 to $20.00 in addition to
a percentage of the loan amount. Two states
impose fee caps of $30.00 and $45.00 per loan.
Two states calculate their rate caps as a monthly
interest rate, specifying five percent and 20
percent of the loan amount. One state permits fee

restrictions to be automatically adjusted
according to periodic changes in the consumer
price index. Some states provide for a much
lower interest rate on amounts remaining due
after maturity. Statutes in several states
specifically provide that the fees are not interest
and are fully earned at the time the loan is entered
into. Most states expressly permit lenders to
charge a fee ranging from $10.00 to $30.00 for
checks that are returned unpaid, although some
states allow only one such charge per loan. Many
states specifically prohibit additional fees or
penalties when a consumer pays off a loan prior
to maturity.

TERM OF LOANS

One of the most contentious aspects of
payday loans is the term of the loan. As
evidenced by the common name given to these
transactions, "payday" loans are intended to be
short-term loans with repayment on the
consumer's next payday. Paydays are often
scheduled on a weekly, bi-weekly or monthly
basis.

Nineteen states have maximum loan periods
of 30, 31 or 32 days or one month; six states have
maximum loan periods of 40, 45 or 60 days. The
shortest maximum loan period is seven days and
the three longest maximum loan periods are 12
weeks, 120 days and six months. Four of the
states with statutory regulatory schemes have no
maximum loan period. Thirteen states specify
minimum loan periods ranging from five to 14
days.

RENEWALS

The "cycle of debt" problem is the focus of
much criticism by consumer advocates. A major
component of this problem is the ability of a
consumer to renew a payday loan on a continuing
basis without having to pay any portion of the
loan principal. Eleven states prohibit a lender
from renewing a payday loan. Five states permit
only one renewal while seven states permit two,
three, four or six renewals of a payday loan.
Several states permit payday loans to be renewed
or extended at no extra cost to the consumer.
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PAYMENT PLANS

Several states provide for payment plans
when a consumer is unable to repay a loan in full
at the end of the term of an initial or renewed
payday loan. In some states, the payment plan is
mandatory; in other states, the payment plan may
be optional at the discretion of either the
consumer or the lender. Payment plans vary
widely in their terms and include four equal
monthly installments and payment periods
ranging from 55 days to six months. States also
differ as to whether there is an initial charge to
enter into a payment plan and what rate of
interest, if any, can be charged on unpaid
principal during the payment period. Florida
requires a lender to give a consumer a 60-day
grace period following a default, during which
time the consumer must undergo credit
counseling.

WAITING PERIODS

Nine states impose some form of waiting
period to limit the ability of a consumer to enter
into new payday loans. The length of the waiting
period ranges from the next business day to 15
days.  The trigger for the imposition of a waiting
period varies from state to state, but includes the
following: payment of a prior payday loan,
renewal(s) of a payday loan, participation in a
payment plan, a specific number of consecutive
payday loans and a specific number of days in
which a consumer has obligations under payday
loan agreements.  One state limits a consumer to
three loans per lender within 30 days.

ENFORCEMENT AND PENALTIES

All states restricting the payday loan indus-
try have one or more means of enforcing those
restrictions. The most common means of
enforcement is through the suspension or
revocation of state licenses that permit a lender to
engage in payday lending in that state and the
issuance of cease and desist orders by the state
regulator. Twenty-two states permit the licensing
authority to impose administrative fines ranging
from $500 to $10,000 per violation. Some states
also permit the recovery of the state's cost of

investigation. Nine states explicitly provide for a
private right of action enabling a consumer to
bring a lawsuit against a lender for alleged
statutory violations.  In such cases, a consumer
often may recover actual or treble damages and
attorney fees, and, in some states, statutory
damages up to $1,000. Several states declare a
violation of payday lending restrictions to be a
violation of the state's consumer protection or
unfair trade practices act.  In 16 states, violation
of the restrictions on payday loans exposes a
lender to criminal liability for a misdemeanor or
a felony, with the possibility of a maximum fine
of $10,000 and a year in jail for lending without
a license.  In several states, if a lender charges
excessive fees, the loan is void and the lender
cannot collect unless the excessive charges are a
result of a "bona fide" clerical or computer error.

OTHER PROVISIONS

Seventeen states have enacted provisions
that permit a consumer to rescind a payday loan
agreement. Many states require such a right to be
exercised before the end of the following
business day and require all fees to be refunded in
full to the consumer. Some states specify that
payday loans cannot be divided into more than
one loan in order to charge higher fees in cases of
sliding fee scales. One state requires the
responsible administrative agency to report
annually to the legislature regarding payday loan
activity.

NEW MEXICO RULES

The payday lending rules published by the
FID on August 15, 2006 have a general effective
date of August 31, 2006. The total amount
borrowed cannot exceed 25 percent of the
consumer's gross monthly income, but there is no
limit on the number of payday loans a consumer
can have outstanding at any one time. A
verification database will be available no later
than November 30, 2006. Administrative fees for
payday loans are capped at $15.50 per $100 of
principal; no interest charges are permitted.
Payday loans cannot have a term less than 14
days or more than 35 days. A consumer has the
right to rescind a payday loan at no cost until
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5:00 p.m. on the first business day following the
loan. A consumer has the right to renew a payday
loan twice, and can elect that option up to 14
days after the due date of the loan. At any time
until 28 days after the due date of a loan that has
been twice renewed, a consumer has the right to
enter into a loan payment plan at no additional
cost. The payment plan must be at least 130 days
in length. If within the prior 12 months a
consumer has had payment obligations under a
payday loan product for 60 consecutive days or a
total of 90 or more days, a consumer must have
completed all payment obligations for all payday
loan products for at least seven days.  Violation
of the rules may result in the administrative
suspension or revocation of a payday lender's
license, which license is required pursuant to the
New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955.

CRITICAL CHOICES

An important element of a payday loan
regulatory scheme is whether to prohibit or limit
the cycle of debt. The problem arises when a
consumer is able to enter into successive payday
loans, thereby incurring high amounts of interest
charges without ever reducing the principal
amount borrowed. It is this scenario that can lead
to the horror stories of people repaying lenders
amounts greatly in excess of the amount
originally borrowed.

Regulatory approaches that may limit this
problem include the following:  1) prohibit or
limit the renewal of payday loans; 2) prohibit the
repayment of a payday loan with the proceeds of
a new payday loan from a different lender; 3)
prohibit multiple payday loans by a consumer,
either entirely or when a consumer exceeds a
threshold limit on payday loan activity; 4) require
lenders to offer consumers an option to repay a
payday loan over an extended period at reduced
interest rates; and 5) impose waiting periods
between payday loans, during which time a
consumer may have no payday loan obligations.

FINAL COMMENTS

Public and legislative concerns for the
impact of the payday lending industry on
consumers have over the past few years

generated much debate and many legislative
proposals across the country. Forty states have
adopted statutes addressing payday lending. In
2006, a total of 85 bills were introduced in 25
states to amend or enact laws regulating the
payday loan industry. Close attention should be
paid to recent legislative enactments and to state
administrative regulations when attempting to
gain an overview of state efforts to regulate the
payday loan industry. A great deal of attention
has also been focused recently on lending
practices for car title and tax refund loans, and
increased regulation of these industries may be
forthcoming as well.

In considering how to regulate the payday
loan industry, several fundamental questions
must be addressed. First, is the objective to ban
the industry by capping interest rates at a level to
make payday loans unprofitable, or is there a
commitment to determine the range of interest
rates that will permit a fair rate of return on
investment by those in the industry? Second, is
the traditional business model of "payday" loans
acceptable, or does the model need to be changed
to extend the minimum term of a payday loan
beyond the consumer's next payday? Finally, if
the conventional payday loan business model is
no longer available to New Mexicans, what will
be the consequences of that policy decision? Will
consumers turn to unregulated "black market"
lenders? Will they travel to payday lenders
situated just across the border in adjoining states
with payday loan transactions being regulated by
the decisions of other state legislatures? Will
consumers turn to out-of-state lenders doing
business via the Internet?

This Information Bulletin does not represent a policy statement of the
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