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Trends in Construction Cost Growth 
and Vehicle Fuel Economy Since 1990
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Future Gap in Fuel Tax Collections
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State Highway & Bridge Program Revenue Mix Has Changed
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Gas Tax
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State Actions

• Since 2013, 30 states & D.C. have 

increased their gas tax.

• 22 states & D.C. have indexed or 

variable-rate gas taxes.

• MO (2018) increase was subject to voter 

approval and failed.

• OK (2018) did not increase 

transportation funding but freed up 

general fund $$ for education.
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State with Fees on Plug-In Hybrid and/or Electric Vehicles 
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Source: NCSL Energy 
Program (2021)
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Federal STSFA Grants 
(Surface Transportation 
System Funding 
Alternatives)

• $14.2 million (2016)

• $15.5 million (2017)

• $10.3 million (2018)

• $15.1 million (2019)

• $18.7 million (2020)

• 15+ programs (14 states) funded

• Variety of approaches being tested

FY 2019 Grant Selections

https://ops.fhwa.dot.gov/fastact/stsfa/reports/stsfarpt19/stafarpt19.pdf
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State Road User Charge (RUC) Landscape
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State RUC Programs

Utah

• Created by Utah’s Legislature: SB 136 (2018) and SB 72 (2019) 
established a voluntary RUC program.

• Effective Date: Utah began collecting electric vehicle fees in 2019 and 
the RUC program went live in Jan. 2020.

• Eligible Vehicles: Full electric vehicles, plug-in hybrid vehicles and 
gasoline hybrid vehicles.

• Payment and Vendor Options: One firm—DriveSync—offers reporting 
and payment services.

• Other Provisions: 

• An electric vehicle owner pays a $120 fee. Owners who enroll in 
the RUC program, however, pay 1.5 cents per mile in lieu of this 
fee.

• RUC participants can never be charged more than the annual 
registration fee and receive monthly invoices.

• Vehicle owners with privacy concerns may opt for short-term data 
retention or pay a flat fee. Three mileage reporting choices.
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Oregon

• Created by Oregon’s Legislature: SB 810 (2013) directed ODOT to 
establish the nation’s first fully operational RUC program.

• Effective Date: Named OReGO, the RUC program went live in July 
2015.

• Eligible Vehicles: Any vehicle achieving at least 20 mpg.

• Payment and Vendor Options: Three firms—Azuga, Emovis and 
ODOT—offer reporting and payment services.

• Other Provisions:

• Vehicles achieving at least 40 mpg, as well as electric vehicles, 
are exempt from paying supplemental fees by enrolling ($33 
for vehicles with fuel efficiency at or above 40 mpg and $110 
for electric vehicles).

• The per-mile rate is set at 5% of the per-gallon license tax 
(currently 1.8 cents per mile).

• ODOT is also consulting with new vehicle dealers to determine 
the most effective methods, at the point of sale, to encourage 
participation.
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Pending 2021 State Funding Measures – Awaiting Governor Signature
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Missouri

MO SB 262 increases the gas tax 
by 2.5 cents per year for five 

years to fund maintenance on 
state roads and bridges. 

Taxpayers could file for an 
annual rebate through the state 

Department of Revenue. The 
measure may be decided on by 
voters in an upcoming election 
due to a referendum petition 

filed with the Secretary of 
State’s office.

Colorado

CO SB 260 raises revenue by 
implementing fees on various 
transportation related goods 

and services. Gas, transportation 
network company rides, and 

retail deliveries would be subject 
to fees under the measure. 

Revenue generated by the fees 
would go to the Highway User 

Tax Fund and enterprises such as 
the air pollution mitigation 

enterprise.

Connecticut

CT HB 6688 creates a highway 
use fee to address the 

anticipated deficient for the 
Special Transportation Fund. The 
tax rate is determined by truck 

weight, ranging from 2.5 to 17.5 
cents per mile. Truckers hoping 
to operate on state highways 
must obtain a permit and file  

monthly mileage with the 
Commissioner of Revenue 

Services.
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Engage with NCSL’s Transportation Program 

• NCSL Transportation Newsletter – subscribe here: 

➢https://www.ncsl.org/aboutus/ncslservice/ncsl-newsletter-listings.aspx.   

• NCSL Natural Resources and Infrastructure (NRI) Standing Committee is one of eight NCSL 
Standing Committees that advocates before Congress and federal agencies concerning 
transportation, energy, environment, and agriculture legislation, regulations and policies.

➢Committee members are appointed by their chamber’s leader.  

• Meetings & Webinars: NCSL Transportation Program hosts numerous online and in-
person meetings throughout the year, including sessions at NCSL’s annual Legislative 
Summit and Capitol Forum. 

• NCSL Transportation Homepage: https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation.aspx
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https://www.ncsl.org/aboutus/ncslservice/ncsl-newsletter-listings.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/ncsl-in-dc/standing-committees/natural-resources-and-infrastructure.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation.aspx
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○ Questions re: State Transportation and 
Traffic Safety Issues?

Contact

Douglas.Shinkle@NCSL.ORG

303-856-1482

Questions?
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