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Timeline of Cannabis in NM

1970 2007 MARCH 2021
President Nixon signs the Controlled New Mexico Legislature passes the Lynn Cannabis Regulation Act (HB2)
Substances Act, launching the Waron  and Erin Compassionate Use Act, allowing passes in special legislative session,
Drugs; cannabis is Schedule 1 (heroin, LSD, medical cannabis patients with qualifying along with SB2, providing for
ecstasy, psilocybin, etc.) indicating no  conditions, and their caregivers, the ability automatic expungement of certain
medical benefit and high risk of abuse. to grow four plants and possess up to six cannabis-related criminal records.

ounces of cannabis.

1978 2019

New Mexico enacts first medical
cannabis law in the U.S., serving ~600
cancer patients suffering from
chemotherapy induced nausea and

35 Licensed Non-Profit Producers
{LNPPs) and 16 independent
manufacturers; NM DOH regulates
medical cannabis industry.

vomiting.
SEPTEMBER 2021 OCTOBER 2023
Cannabis Control Division issues 2,000+ licensed operators in New Mexico,
rules, creating regulatory across dll license types; New Mexico
framework for adult use cannabis industry surpasses half-billion-
cannabis in New Mexico. dollars in total sales.
. Lo I .

APRIL 1, 2023 2024 AND BEYOND
First adult use sale at New Mexico enjoys a healthy, diverse,
midnight in Las Cruces. competitive cannabis industry, with

ongoing pathways and mechanisms of
support for homegrown businesses to
take root and thrive.



Industry Snapshot - August 2023

Total adult use sales of cannabis has “basically” continued to increase,
month-over-month (Data Heard Presentation)
o The average cart size and average monthly revenue per licensed retailer
continues to decrease, at an increasingly higher rate

New Mexico is very likely over-producing cannabis, growing and manufacturing more
supply than there is demand (New Mexico Cannabis Demand Modeling, 2022)
o As of January, the top ten highest producing cultivation licensees accounted for
half of the estimated total supply needed for New Mexico
o This presence of illicit and gray market cannabis continues to greatly exacerbate
oversupply

As of August, 2023, there are 1,021 cannabis retailers. Colorado, a state of 5.8 million
(almost 3x New Mexico’s population - adjust for proximity to Texas) has 1,048 licensed
retailers
o 603 reported sales that month, 40% reported sales of less than $25,000 (average
of $11,660), representing 8% of total adult use market
o 40% of operating storefronts are “mom & pop”, with an average monthly revenue
of $23,000 (under $25k “survival threshold”, Data Heard Presentation); there is
no bankruptcy protection for cannabis operators
m The “survival threshold” was updated last month to $50,000 monthly

*As of September, 2023, there are 1,013 licensed retailers (-8), 653 reported sales to
CCD
o Total sales decreased 2.1% (6.86% medical cannabis sales);
o Dark Matter in Sunland Park reported $1,078,000 in sales (3.1% of total adult use
sales). *Updated data from Bill Sluben (linkedin.com/in/billsluben/)

While 60.7% of New Mexicans who use cannabis indicated that it is easy or very easy to
access illicit products, a total of 63% was report to be obtained from regulated, legal
sources (New Mexico Cannabis Demand Modeling, 2022)

2024 Legislative Priorities
Enhance ability for CCD to sufficiently regulate industry
o Remove sunset of plant count limits
m Section 40 of the CRA, which grants CCD the ability to set production
limits via rulemaking, is set to repeal December 31, 2025.
o Re-insert Language re: ability of RLD to manage production
m From 2021 HB12, SJC amendments:



https://www.linkedin.com/in/billsluben/

The division may limit the type or number of licenses that a
licensee may be issued pursuant to the Cannabis Regulation Act;
provided that upon a finding and the recommendation of the
cannabis regulatory advisory committee that market equilibrium is
deficient and threatens the economic viability of the cannabis
industry or adequate supply of cannabis, the superintendent may
impose temporary moratoria on new licensure, issue new licenses
or allow greater production by current licensees. The decision to
impose temporary moratoria on new licensure, issue new licenses
or allow greater production by current licensees shall be made
with input from the university of New Mexico bureau of business
and economic research and the director of the New Mexico
department of agriculture.

e Enhance ability for RLD to sufficiently enforce rules and compliance
o Strengthen enforcement abilities for CCD
o Authorize destruction of illegal products (Missouri story)
e Remove plant count limit from statute, index to 10% of highest commercial production
limit
Nonprofit conversion language
Picnic License
Remove annual escalation of cannabis excise tax
Fixes to CRA
o Federal background check
o Micro-to-micro wholesale
o Liquor license fix

Future Policy Considerations
e Delta 8,10; THC-O

o Federal 2018 Farm Bill legalized hemp-derived THC, making it possible for
national hemp businesses to create intoxicating products that can ship across
state lines and have virtually no regulation or testing

o A growing number of states, 15 so far, have altogether banned hemp-derived
THC, with varying levels of success while other states have incorporated
hemp-derived cannabinoids into their state cannabis programs

o Right now, untested products are available in gas stations across the state

e Support for small and medium-sized cannabis businesses (funding, accelerator)
o Based on what has worked best in other markets, any participation in an
accelerator program should include a grant for participants

e [nterstate cannabis commerce



o

California, Oregon, and Washington have all passed laws allowing officials to
enter into agreements with other legal states for cross-border trade agreements.
Crossing state lines with a Schedule 1 drug is currently illegal, and the laws in
Washington and Oregon require federal reform or guidance to proceed while
California is likely to proceed without

V. Federal Snapshot
e SAFER Banking

o

The SAFER Banking Act passed a U.S. Senate committee, Senate Banking, for
the first time on September 27, 2023, after previous versions had passed out the
House seven times before

SAFER provides a safe harbor for state-legal cannabis businesses to access
federally regulated banks and credit unions. While a major step in the right
direction, current versions lack parity in terms of specific policies regarding
access to loans, mortgages, etc., compared to hemp businesses

e Rescheduling

(e]

On August 30, 2023, it was leaked that Health and Human Services issued a
non-binding letter to the Drug Enforcement Agency recommending moving
cannabis from Schedule 1 (heroin, LSD, MDMA, psilocybin) to Schedule 3
(Ketamine, Tylenol with Codeine).

IRS tax code 280e does NOT apply to Schedule 3 substances, but there remain
LOTS of unknowns. NMCCC currently does not yet have a formal position on
rescheduling cannabis
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Non Profit Conversion language, from 2023 HB 313, SGEIC amendments:
A nonprofit corporation that was incorporated in order to qualify for a license as a
licensed nonprofit producer pursuant to department of health rules under the
Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act may convert into a for-profit corporation
pursuant to the Business Corporation Act. The assets of the nonprofit corporation
shall be applied and distributed as follows if the corporation did not have a
federal tax exemption as a nonprofit corporation: (1) all liabilities and obligations
of the corporation shall be paid and discharged or adequate provision shall be
made for payment and discharge; (2) assets held by the corporation on condition
requiring return, transfer or conveyance, which condition occurs by reason of the
conversion, shall be returned, transferred or conveyed in accordance with the
requirements; (3) assets received and held by the corporation subject to
limitations permitting their use only for eleemosynary, religious, benevolent,
educational or similar purposes, but not held on a condition requiring return,
transfer or conveyance by reason of the conversion, shall be transferred or
conveyed to one or more nonprofit domestic corporations, nonprofit societies or
nonprofit organizations engaged in activities substantially similar to those of the
converting corporation, pursuant to a plan of distribution adopted as provided in
the Nonprofit Corporation Act; and(4) any remaining assets shall be distributed to
the new for-profit corporation according to a plan of distribution adopted as
provided in the Nonprofit Corporation Act.
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NEW MEXICO’S LEGAL CANNABIS MARKET GRAPPLES WITH OVERSATURATION,
OVERSUPPLY, & ILLICIT MARKET

Image: Yuval Zukerman/Unsplash

October 3, 2023

New Mexico is no stranger to cannabis and cannabis legalization. The state passed the
nation’s first medical cannabis law back in 1978, allowing limited use of the drug for
some cancer patients. Cannabis was legalized for adult use in 2021 and the first

licensed sales of recreational cannabis began in New Mexico on April 1, 2022.

In this article, an industry insider details some of the challenges that have sprung up in
the last 18 months; namely, New Mexico’s legal cannabis market is grappling with an
oversaturation of licensed businesses, while also seeing prices driven down by

oversupply and illicit product from out-of-state making its way into the supply chain.

Low Barriers to Entry Lead to Hyper-Competitive
Market

Looking at sales numbers, the first year-and-a-half of New Mexico’s adult use cannabis

industry could be considered a success story for a relatively low-population state. In


https://cannabisnow.com/lynn-pierson-first-medical-marijuana-law/

August, according to data from the state’s Regulation and Licensing Department
(NMRLD), total cannabis sales in New Mexico — medical and adult use — reached a

record $48.2 million, compared to $40.8 million in sales in August 2022.

For Ben Lewinger, however, the data tells only part of the story. Lewinger is Executive
Director of the New Mexico Cannabis Chamber of Commerce. He noted that several

factors are creating serious challenges for New Mexico’s cannabis sector.

One issue is the way the state established its adult use cannabis market, specifically the
licensing process. “New Mexico took a very forward approach in the way that we
legalized, in that we had very few barriers to entry for licensure,” Lewinger told
Cannabis Benchmarks. “Instead of having a social equity program or social equity
quota, social equity was built into the DNA of how our regulatory framework was
designed. It was very easy for anybody who wanted a license to get a license. And the
result is we have over 2,000 licensed operators in New Mexico, across cultivation,

manufacturing, retail, and testing facilities.”

That relative ease in obtaining a cannabis license means there are currently over 1,000
approved dispensary licenses in the state. A NMRLD spokesperson told Cannabis
Benchmarks that 610 of those retail licenses are active. In comparison, Colorado, with a
population nearly three times as large as New Mexico’s, had 679 active adult use

retailer licenses as of the beginning of September.

The oversaturation of retailers means that individual stores are capturing smaller slices
of the overall pie in a state with a population of only 2.1 million. Lewinger described New
Mexico as currently having a burgeoning, but, for the moment, unstable market where
licensed businesses are seeing decreasing revenue. “There are a ton of retailers who
[are bringing in] less than $25,000 in revenue a month,” he said. “We are starting to see
those businesses close, left and right.” Additionally, according to Lewinger, New Mexico
is currently producing more cannabis and cannabis products than there is demand in

the state.


https://crop.rld.nm.gov/sales.html
https://crop.rld.nm.gov/dispensaries.html
https://crop.rld.nm.gov/dispensaries.html

lllegal Cannabis in New Mexico Drives Down Legal
Market Prices

Another challenge, Lewinger noted, is the “huge amount of illicit cannabis product”
coming into New Mexico from California, Oklahoma, and other states that are also

experiencing cannabis surpluses due to their own overproduction.

One of the state’s top cannabis companies recently told Lewinger that wholesale
outdoor-grown flower is currently selling for anywhere from $1,000 to $1,200 per pound.
At the same time, he said, “you can get pounds of Grade A flower for $300 that are
coming in from Oklahoma, and you can put those into our state traceability software
through loopholes. That has really driven the price of properly regulated, New

Mexico-licensed cannabis into the ground.”

The flood of out-of-state, illicit cannabis also impacts prices of other cannabis products
in the state. “When you have truckloads of flower and trim coming in from other states
and introduced into the state traceability software illegally,” Lewinger pointed out, “some
of that is turned into distillate and finished products, forcing the price for manufactured
products to depress as well.” A manufacturer told Lewinger that the wholesale price for
distillate in New Mexico was $9,000 a liter last year. Currently it's $4,200 to $4,600 per

liter of distillate.

New Mexico Cannabis Regulators Working to Weed
Out Bad Actors

That said, Lewinger noted that the New Mexico Cannabis Control Division has
dramatically tightened up its enforcement over the past several months. An NMRLD
press release from July, for example, announced that the department had revoked the
license of a cannabis retailer in Albuquerque for selling out-of-state cannabis products.

According to the release, among the violations found at the dispensary in question were


https://api.realfile.rtsclients.com/PublicFiles/1ee897135beb4b1c82715d36398de4c5/81cb03b7-48d0-4fa6-bda9-a27dc6538243/NEWS%20RELEASE%20-%20NMRLD%20Revokes%20License%20of%20ABQ%20Cannabis%20Dispensary.pdf
https://api.realfile.rtsclients.com/PublicFiles/1ee897135beb4b1c82715d36398de4c5/81cb03b7-48d0-4fa6-bda9-a27dc6538243/NEWS%20RELEASE%20-%20NMRLD%20Revokes%20License%20of%20ABQ%20Cannabis%20Dispensary.pdf

‘possessing, receiving, and selling cannabis products that were not native to New

Mexico and were marked with California stampings.”

“| firmly believe that the way our state legalized was the right way to do it,” Lewinger
said. “But the side effect of that is you have a bunch of operators [who] have very little
intention of ever participating in the true legal market. I'm thinking of two dispensaries
that were closed for selling California product, and neither of them even came to their
hearing. Which makes me think that was their plan all along; to set up shop, make it as
long as they can selling California product so they had higher margins on what they

were selling.”

The priority now, Lewinger believes, is for the state’s cannabis sector to stabilize and
undercut the illicit market. “Creating supports and funding for small and medium-sized
operators,” he said, “so it's not only MSOs” — large, multi-state operators — who are left

standing as the industry matures and consolidates.

Medical Cannabis in New Mexico After Recreational
Legalization

As in other states that have legalized cannabis for adult use, the medical cannabis
market in New Mexico has softened considerably since the opening of recreational
sales. NMRLD reported medical cannabis sales of $13.5 million in August 2023,

compared to $16.5 million for August last year.

For his part, Lewinger believes the medical cannabis sector will survive in New Mexico.
“Like every other state we’ve seen enrollment in our medical cannabis program

nosedive,” he acknowledged. “But | like to think that’'s more of a correction. For medical
cannabis here, you have higher THC limits on products, which | think is very appealing,

especially for patients struggling with chronic pain or cancer treatment.”



He also noted that medical cannabis sales in New Mexico are tax-exempt. “We have a[n
adult use] cannabis excise tax that's 12%, and then everywhere in New Mexico has a
gross receipts tax of 6% to 10%,” he said. “The total tax on [adult use] cannabis is
anywhere from 18% to 22%, depending on where you live in the state, but medical
cannabis patients don’t have to pay any tax. | do think that is enough for people,
especially for folks that really believe in cannabis as plant medicine, to continue to

renew their [patient] licenses.”

As Famous as New Mexico Green Chile?

Lewinger believes that, with the financial resources needed for cannabis regulation and
compliance now coming into the state coffers via tax revenue from the industry, that the

legal market in New Mexico has turned a corner.

“Our state had a very aggressive timeline from when the governor signed the cannabis
regulation act to our first adult use sale,” he said. “It took less than 12 months to create
a brand new division to regulate legal cannabis and staff it up. So it's only now, a
year-and-a-half into the legal industry, that the state has revenue and our regulators are
able to have sufficient compliance and enforcement activities across the state. Huge
kudos to them, because they are doing a really good job of cracking down on those bad
operators. And | think that is what’s going to make the biggest difference in regulating

our industry.”

Lewinger also expects New Mexico cannabis to come into its own as a brand, as its
quality becomes better known. “I would put New Mexico cannabis up against the best
cannabis grown in Humboldt County [in northern California] and British Columbia any
day of the week,” he said. “Especially with our outdoor, sun-kissed flower and living soil.
| would put it up against cannabis anywhere in the world. | look forward to a day when

we have interstate commerce, and we're exporting our green cannabis and cannabis
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products alongside [New Mexico’s famous] green chile. | hope that in five years’ time

there’s a pathway for new operators to enter and thrive in the state’s industry.”
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