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WHAT I’LL COVER TODAY

1. Labor market overview

2. Subminimum wage – what is it and 
how does it work?

3. What’s happening in New Mexico

4. What are other states doing
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U.S. WORKFORCE OVERVIEW

National Unemployment Rate

 People without disabilities = 3.6%

 People with disabilities = 7.2%

National Labor Force 
Participation Rate

 People without disabilities = 77.4%

 People with disabilities = 34.7%

U.S. worker shortage = 1.4 million 

3Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, September 2019



FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

 First enacted in 1938

 Sets a federal minimum wage –
last adjusted in 2009

 Current federal minimum wage 
rate: $7.25/hr
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FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

Exceptions to the Minimum 
Wage

29 U.S.C. 201, et seq.
 3(m): Tipped Wage
 6(g): Youth Training Wage
 14(a): Subminimum for Student Workers
 14(c): Subminimum for People With 

Disabilities
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SUBMINIMUM WAGE FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

How It Works

 To pay subminimum wages, 
employers must apply for a 
certificate from U.S. DOL’s Wage 
and Hour Division.

 Employers must renew their 
certificate every 1-2 years.
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 Workers with disabilities under 25:
 must be informed about competitive 

integrated employment options before 
being paid subminimum wages.

 must receive transition services, career 
counseling and vocational rehabilitation 
aimed at emphasizing competitive 
integrated employment.

 ALL workers earning subminimum wages 
must receive career counseling and self-
advocacy training at least once a year.
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Workforce Innovation and 
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SUBMINIMUM WAGE FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

How a Subminimum Wage is Calculated

 Wage is based on the productivity of the worker with a 
disability in proportion to the wage and productivity of an 
experienced worker with no disability

 Simply having a disability does not justify a subminimum 
wage

 Must recalculate at least once a year

 Workers can petition an administrative judge to review 
their wage rate

 Federal wage calculators incorporate state minimum 
wage increases 8



FEDERAL ACTION

Raise the Wage Act
 Passed U.S. House in 2019, pending in the 

U.S. Senate
 Dept. of Labor would stop issuing 14(c) 

certificates
 Subminimum wages would gradually 

increase over 6 years to minimum wage 
rate

 After 6 years, all certificates would be 
invalid
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STATE ACTIONS ON SUBMINIMUM WAGE

Workers with 
Disabilities Earning 
Subminimum Wages –
By the Numbers

 Nationwide = 105,006

 New Mexico = 185

 Colorado = 672

 Arizona = 1,125

 Utah = 1,298
*Source: U.S. Department of Labor, July 2019
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STATE ACTIONS ON SUBMINIMUM WAGE

Federal Guidance for States 
Eliminating Subminimum Wage

2016 WHD Interpretation:

“The FLSA does not preempt a state law 
that prohibits the payment of wages 
lower than the state’s minimum wage”
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STATE ACTIONS ON MINIMUM WAGE
29 States with Minimum Wage Above the Federal Rate
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States Limiting Subminimum Wage Exception
for Workers with Disabilities
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STATE ACTIONS ON SUBMINIMUM WAGE

2019 Enacted Bills

Full Ban:

 Nevada – AB 456

 Oregon – SB 494

Partial Ban:

 Texas – SB 753

 Washington – HB 1706

States Considering Subminimum Wage Repeal in 2019
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Presenter
Presentation Notes
Texas
Community Rehabilitation Programs that contract with the state must pay workers the federal minimum wage

Washington
State agencies cannot pay workers with disabilities less than the state minimum wage



KEY TAKEAWAYS

1. Compared to neighboring states, New Mexico has a 
relatively low number of workers with disabilities earning 
subminimum wages

2. Subminimum wages are getting increased attention in 
states but only a handful have enacted legislation
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Josh Cunningham
josh.cunningham@ncsl.org

720-372-6324

NCSL Resources:

 NCSL BLOG: States Weigh Options on Subminimum Wages for 
Workers With Disabilities

 Disability Employment Legislation Database

 NCSL.org – “2019 Minimum Wage by State”

mailto:Josh.Cunningham@ncsl.org
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