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Teacher Licensure 

Research shows the quality of the teacher workforce is essential for student success, and 
the Legislature is focused on cultivating a strong, diverse teacher workforce. However, 
New Mexico, like many states, has struggled with teacher shortages. Many argue efforts 
to build the educator workforce have been hampered, in part, by a licensure test that many 
first-time test takers fail.  
 
In 2003, the New Mexico Legislature passed a comprehensive education reform package, 
including the creation of the three-tier teacher licensure system. Minimum salaries are 
tied to each licensure level, and over the past 20 years, those minimums have been raised 
an average of 52 percent. To become a licensed teacher, individuals can complete a 
traditional four-year education degree or, if they alre
alternative licensure pathway, after which they are awarded an alternative license. 
 

-Tier Licensure System 

The three-tiered licensure system created as part of 
the 2003 comprehensive public school reform 
legislation was intended to enhance student 
achievement and address a teacher shortage 
identified in the late 1990s. This progressive career 
system in which licensees are required to 
demonstrate increased competencies and undertake 
increased duties as they progress through the 
licensure levels incorporates three levels of 
licensure: level 1, a provisional license, level 2, a 
professional license, and level 3, a master teacher license.  
 
The key components of the three-tiered system include that 

 The Public Education Department (PED) sets educational standards for candidates 
interested in obtaining a teacher license. Currently, candidates must complete or 
be enrolled in an approved education preparation program and pass a series of 
Praxis examinations. 
 

 The three-tiered licensure system is 
aligned with teacher compensation and 
each tier is designed with a base salary 
attached. As teachers move from 
provisional to professional teacher status, 
they earn greater compensation. In 2003, 
the minimum salaries for each of the 
prescribed levels were established in law: 
$30 thousand for level 1; $40 thousand for 
level 2; and $50 thousand for level 3-A.  
Since 2003, teacher minimum salaries have increased to $50 thousand for level 1; 

According to the National Council 

on Teacher Quality, 28 states- 

allow districts to set their own 

salary schedules. In New Mexico, 

the three-tier licensure system 

sets salary minimums in statute. 

 

PED Licensure Processing Fees 

Initial Teacher License $150  

Renewal Teacher License $120  

Adding an Endorsement $120  

 Source: PED 
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$60 thousand for level 2; and $70 thousand for level 3-A.  This represents an 
average 52 percent increase in minimum salary over the past twenty years.  

 
Teacher Initial License Eligibility 

 

Section 22-10A-6 NMSA 1978 requires 
a traditional licensure program to 

and completion of an approved 
teacher preparation program in 
addition to requiring candidates to 
pass a core academic knowledge 
assessment and content knowledge 
exams that align with the teaching 

certification area. Requirements for candidates in an alternative licensure program 
-approved subject-area examinations 

and, within two years of teaching, completion of a 12-semester hour alternative licensure 
program at a department-approved teacher preparation program.  
 
The Legislature has established general course requirements for licensed teachers to meet 
through state law, but has left specific educator preparation program course requirements 
up to PED to develop. According to Section 22-10A-6 NMSA 1978, individuals seeking 
licensure in elementary, special, early childhood, or secondary education must complete 
a minimum of 41 credit hours in the college of arts and sciences that include: 
 

 Nine semester hours in communication, 
 Six semester hours in mathematics, 
 Eight semester hours in laboratory science, 
 Nine semester hours in social and behavioral science, and 
 Nine semester hours in humanities and fine arts.  

 
In addition to these course requirements, a candidate seeking an elementary license is 
required to complete six hour of reading courses, and a person seeking a secondary license 
is required to complete three hours of reading courses in subject matter content.  
 
Educator Testing Requirements. To become a licensed educator in New Mexico, 
candidates must pass all required Praxis examinations. The Praxis examination was 
adopted in New Mexico in 2020, replacing the New Mexico Teacher Assessments, and is 
used in over 40 states nationwide.  Testing requirements differ across teacher license type 
and endorsement. For example, to apply for a kindergarten-eighth grade license, teacher 
licensure candidates must pass  

 Core Academic Skills for Educators in Reading, 
 Core Academic Skills for Educators in Mathematics, 
 Core Academic Skills for Educators in Writing, 
 Principles of Learning and Teaching Grades K-6, 
 Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment, and 
 Teaching Reading Elementary. 

 
PED has identified licensure testing as a barrier for entering the teaching professions. 
Beginning in July 2022, PED plans to no longer require the Core Academic Skills for 
Education in math, reading, or writing.  
 

Passage  

Rate

Passi ng 

Score

Medi an 

Score

Core  Academi c Sk i l l s fo r  Ed:  Math 74% 150 166

Core  Academi c Sk i l l s fo r  Ed:  Readi ng 83% 156 176

Core  Academi c Sk i l l s fo r  Ed:  Wr i ti ng 61% 162 164

Teachi ng Readi ng K-12 47% 156 155

Teachi ng Readi ng El ementary 66% 159 162

Source: PED

Teacher Licensure Test Passage Rates

(Schoo l  Year  2020-2021)
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Level 1  

 
 A level 1 teaching license is a five-year provisional license for beginning teachers that 
requires formal mentorship for at least one school year and an annual performance 
evaluation conducted by a school administrator. Level 1 license holders are required by 
PED to advance their license after five years. If a level 1 teacher li is interested in 
advancing sooner, PED allows level 1 license holders to begin the advancement process 
after three years of teaching. 
 
PED notes 5,171 educators, or 14 percent of 
total licensed teachers, in New Mexico 
currently hold level 1 licenses.  During the 
2022 legislative session, the Legislature 
amended the School Personnel Act to 
increase minimum salaries to $50 thousand 
for level 1 teachers. 
 
Alternative Special Education 
Level 1 License. When closely 

teacher vacancies by grade level 
and general area, the NM 
Southwest Outreach Academic 
Research Evaluation and Policy 
Center report finds the largest 
need is for special education 
teachers. National research 
finds when faced with 
shortages, principals often resort 
to filling special education 
vacancies with underprepared 
teachers, which could mean 
hiring a teacher certified in a field other than special education or a teacher with an 
alternative credential with little initial training in special education. During the 2021 
legislative session, lawmakers  amended NMSA 22-10A-8 subsection B 1978 to add an 
additional 15-week student teaching requirement for teacher candidates participating in a 
special education alternative licensure program. School districts might not all be aware of 
this change, which will impact the hiring of special education teachers for the 2022-2023 
school year. PED notes the department is encouraging districts to take advantage of the $6 
million student teaching appropriation to PED in the General Appropriations Act of 2022 
to provide a stipend for special education teachers completing their 15-week student 
teacher requirement.   
 
Level 2 

After teaching a minimum of three years under a level 
1 license, teachers are eligible to apply for a nine-year 
level 2 license. To progress to a level 2 license, teachers 
are currently required to complete an approved 
mentoring program and submit a professional 
development dossier to PED.  
 

Ini ti a l  Submi ssi on F ee $320

1 Strand Resubmi ssi on $110

2 Strand Resubmi ssi on $220

3 Strand Resubmi ssi on $320

Source: PED

Professional Development 

Dossier Costs

National research found a quarter 

of test takers who do not pass the 

test the first time do not retake it 

within the three-year period. 

 

 

Elementary License Testing Requirements 

Praxis Assessment 
Cost per 

Test 

Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading $90  

Core Academic Skills for Educators: Math $90  

Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing $90  

Core Academic Skills for Educators: Combined* $150  

Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and 

Assessment $130  

Teaching Reading: Elementary Assessment $156  

 Source: PED 

*Teacher candidates have the option of taking a combined core 

academic skills assessment which includes reading, math, and writing.  

 

  

  

 

https://learningpolicyinstitute.org/sites/default/files/product-files/Addressing_Californias_Growing_Teacher_Shortage_2017_Update_REPORT.pdf
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PED reports 11.6 thousand educators or 31 percent of total teachers in New Mexico 
currently hold a level 2 teacher license.  During the 2022 legislative session, the Legislature 
amended the School Personnel Act to increase minimum salaries to $60 thousand for level 
2 teachers. 

Level 3  

Level three is the highest level of teaching license in 
New Mexico. A level 3A license is a nine-year license. 
After teaching a minimum of three years on a level 2 
license, a teacher may advance from level 2 to level 3 
by obtaining approval from their school district and 
earning a national board certification in their focus 
area of teaching or 
and completing a dossier.  
 
PED reports 20.8 thousand educators, or 55 percent of 
total licensed teachers, in New Mexico currently hold 
a level 3 teacher license.  During the 2022 legislative 
session, the Legislature amended the School Personnel 

Act to increase minimum salaries to $60 thousand for level 2 teachers. 
 

Considerations 
 
Potential Inefficiency of Dossier System. New Mexico established its three-tiered 
licensure system 15 years ago, and the basic tenets of the system guide teacher salaries and 
professional advancement today. The professional development dossier, which teachers 
initially had to submit to advance from one tier to the next, was intended to ensure quality 
teaching. A 2019 LESC review 
approved by evaluators, calling into question whether the process was improving quality.  
 
Incentivizing Professional Growth. Efforts by teachers who carve out time to 
collaborate with peers or seek out professional development, are not always recognized. 

-tiered licensure system, with its emphasis on the use of the dossier, 

well as to provide leadership opportunities. Instead, the system is a technicality tied to 
increased pay rather than a lever for professional development. Research indicates 
successful systems offer multiple tracks for advancement, including teachers who wish to 
remain in the classroom, those who want to pursue school or school district leadership, 
and those who want to provide specialized services 
 
Teacher Licensure Tests. Licensure testing of prospective teachers is one of the primary 
tools states use to ensure teachers have a basic level of content knowledge. The 
credentialing role of testing requirements has become increasingly controversial, and 
national researchers have investigated the predictive validity of licensure tests, or the 
extent to which test scores predict teaching performance evaluations and student 
academic outcomes. In New Mexico, some stakeholders have expressed challenges with 
licensure examinations, noting little correlation between passage of tests and teacher 
success. Conversely, national research shows both strong and weak relationships between 

effectiveness in the classroom. The National Council on Teacher Quality, a nonpartisan 
think tank, recommends states seeking alternatives to licensure tests should weigh 
whether a proposed alternative is sufficiently broad in content that it is both a valid and 
reliable measure of content knowledge.   

 

New Mexico Teacher Licenses by Level 
(School Year 2021-2022) 

License Level 

Certification 

Count 

Percentage of 

Total Licenses 

Level One 5171 14% 

Level Two 11622 31% 

Level Three 20810 55% 

  Source: PED 

 


