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ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT* 

(dollars in thousands) 
 

 FY24 FY25 FY26 
3 Year 

Total Cost 
Recurring or 
Nonrecurring 

Fund 
Affected 

Costs to 
County Jails 

Indeterminate 
but minimal 

At least $9.6 to 
$19.2 

At least $9.6 
$19.2 

At least $19.2 
to $38.4 

Recurring 
County General 

Funds 
Parentheses ( ) indicate expenditure decreases. 
*Amounts reflect most recent analysis of this legislation. 

 
Relates to House Bill 101 
Conflicts with House Bill 100 
 
Sources of Information 
 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) 
Administrative Office of the District Attorneys (AODA) 
Public Defender Department (PDD) 
New Mexico Attorney General (NMAG) 
Sentencing Commission (NMSC) 
Department of Health (DOH) 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) 
 
SUMMARY 
 
Synopsis of Senate Bill 427   
 
Senate Bill 427 requires a 14-day waiting period before the completion of a sale of a firearm. 
Physical control of a firearm cannot be transferred to the buyer earlier than 8am 14 days after 
submission of the federal instant background check. The penalty for violating this provision is a 
misdemeanor offense. The bill exempts people with a valid New Mexico concealed carry license 
from background check requirements, both those contained in existing law and the 14-day 
waiting period established by the bill. The bill also expands the new and existing provisions 
regarding background checks and waiting periods to apply to federal firearms license holders. 
Finally, SB427 requires records of firearm sales be made available for inspection by any law 
enforcement agency upon request during normal business hours (9am to 5pm on weekdays).  
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This bill does not contain an effective date and, as a result, would go into effect June 16, 2023, 
(90 days after the Legislature adjourns) if signed into law. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
Incarceration drives costs in the criminal justice system, so any changes in the number of 
individuals in prison and jail and the length of time served in prison and jail that might result 
from this bill could have moderate fiscal impacts. The creation of any new crime, increase of 
felony degree, or increase of sentencing penalties will likely increase the population of New 
Mexico’s prisons and jails, consequently increasing long-term costs to state and county general 
funds. LFC estimates a marginal cost (the cost per each additional inmate) of $19.2 thousand per 
county jail inmate per year, based on incarceration costs at the Metropolitan Detention Center. 
SB427 may increase the number of incarcerated individuals. 
 
The penalty for failing to adhere by the 14-day waiting period is a misdemeanor, punishable by 
up to a year in jail; for purposes of this analysis, it is estimated an individual could spend 
between six months and one year incarcerated for this offense. Based on the marginal cost of 
each additional inmate in New Mexico’s jail system, each offender sentenced to jail for this 
crime could result in estimated increased costs of $9,614 to $19.2 thousand to counties. 
 
It is difficult to estimate how many individuals will be charged, convicted, or serve time in 
prison or jail based on the creation of a new crime. Without additional information, this analysis 
assumes at least one person will be admitted to jail each year for this crime, at a cost of $9,614 to 
$19.2 thousand. To account for time to adjudication, these costs are not anticipated to be incurred 
until one year after the bill takes effect, in FY25; however, a minimal cost may apply in FY24 
for individuals who are detained for some period of time prior to adjudication. 
 
Additional increased system costs beyond incarceration, such as costs to the judicial branch for 
increased trials or to law enforcement to investigate and arrest individuals for the new crimes 
under SB427, are not included in this analysis, but may be incurred. 
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
Gun Violence and Waiting Periods. The Department of Health (DOH) reports 578 firearm-
related deaths in New Mexico in 2021, including 305 suicides, 230 homicides, and 26 legal 
interventions. The state’s firearm death rate in 2021 was 27.8 deaths per 100 thousand residents, 
22 percent higher than 2020 and the third-highest firearm age-adjusted death rate in the nation.1 
In its analysis of a similar bill (House Bill 100), DOH noted the state’s suicide death rate in 2020 
was 24.6 deaths per 100 thousand residents, 23 percent higher than 2010.2 
 
According to a 2023 meta-analysis of research evidence on the effects of gun policies in the 
United States from the Rand Corporation, there is moderate evidence waiting periods decrease 
firearm suicides and decrease overall homicides, and limited evidence waiting periods decrease 
total suicides and decrease firearm homicides. Studies provided inconclusive evidence regarding 
both the existence and direction (increase or decrease) of the impact of waiting periods on mass 

                                                 
1 https://wonder.cdc.gov/Deaths-by-Underlying-Cause.html  
2 https://www.nmhealth.org/news/information/2021/12/?view=1739  
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shootings or on the gun industry.3 
 
In its analysis of HB100, DOH explained suicide attempts “are often impulsive and studies 
suggest that most suicide survivors contemplated their actions for less than 24 hours before 
making the attempt.”4 Additionally, DOH noted waiting periods give law enforcement agencies 
additional time to complete background checks, writing that “Each year approximately 3,800 
ineligible people acquire firearms through ‘default proceed’ sales in which a dealer completes a 
sale without a completed background check after three business days, as allowed under federal 
law.  As a result, FBI experts have recommended extending the time to complete background 
checks to reduce the number of purchased firearms by default proceeds.”5  
 
The Public Defender Department (PDD) notes that while exempting holders of concealed carry 
licenses from the 14-day waiting period rationally relates to the understanding that these people 
have already been vetted, it does not appear to advance the policy aims related to suicide, 
domestic violence, and homicide prevention. 
 
The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) notes the presence of firearms in domestic 
violence situations has been found to increase the risk of homicide by five times.6 The New 
Mexico Intimate Partner Death Review Team reviews incidents of intimate partner violence or 
sexual assault that result in at least one death. In 2019, it reviewed 58 deaths resulting in 71 
deaths (both by homicide and suicide); 73 percent of deaths were as a result of a gunshot 
wound.7 
 
Background Checks. AOC further reports that, in 2021, 446.5 thousand background checks 
could not be resolved within three business days at the national level, allowing sellers to conduct 
default proceed sales.8 However, while SB427 would require a waiting period that may be 
sufficient to complete background checks, it does not require the background check be 
completed prior to transferring control of the firearm to a buyer. 
 
Constitutional Concerns. The office of the New Mexico Attorney General (NMAG) provides 
the following analysis regarding potential constitutional challenges to the proposed law: 
 

Laws criminalizing activity related to guns often raise questions of 
constitutionality under the Second Amendment.  SB427 criminalizes transferring 
physical possession of a gun to a buyer without a valid New Mexico concealed 
carry permit within fourteen days of submission of a federal instant background 
check, no matter when the background check comes back.  While a total ban on 
handgun possession violates the Second Amendment,9 a ten-day waiting period 
for all firearms purchases was upheld by the Ninth Circuit in Silvester v. Harris.10  

                                                 
3 https://www.rand.org/pubs/research_reports/RRA243-4.html  
4 http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/means-matter/means-matter/impulsivity  
5 https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/nics  
6 J.C. Campbell, et al., “Risk Factors for Femicide in Abusive Relationships: Results from a Multisite Case Control 
Study,” American Journal of Public Health 93, no.7 (2003) 
7 https://ipvdrt.health.unm.edu/ 
8 https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/nics-2020-2021-operations-report.pdf/view 
9 See D.C. v. Heller, 554 U.S. 570, 635 (2008). 
10 843 F.3d 816 (9th Cir. 2016), cert denied, 138 S. Ct. 945. 
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The Supreme Court of the United States declined to hear that case.11  This makes 
the Silvester opinion valid law, even though the Supreme Court has not expressed 
an opinion on the matter.12  Also, decisions of the Ninth Circuit are not legally 
binding on New Mexico courts.13  Even if the Silvester decision were binding, a 
litigant could attempt to obtain a different result by arguing that differences 
between SB427 and the scheme upheld in Silvester lead to a different result for 
SB427. 
 
Additionally, SB427 treats gun purchasers differently based on whether or not 
they have a valid conceal carry permit.  There may be a possibility that SB427 
could face an equal protection challenge arguing that for the purposes of SB427, 
gun owners with a valid conceal carry permit are in the same position as gun 
buyers without a permit, and therefore the bill impermissibly treats similarly 
situated people differently.14   
 
The bill’s requirement that records of firearms sales be available also potentially 
raises a Fourth Amendment search and seizure question.15  New Mexico courts 
are generally more protective of rights against search and seizure than federal 
courts.16  SB427 does not specify whose records are to be available for inspection, 
the seller’s or the buyer’s.  If an individual person’s records are to be available for 
inspection the bill almost certainly raises a Fourth Amendment issue.17   

 
CONFLICT, RELATIONSHIP 
 
SB427 conflicts with House Bill 100, which similarly creates a 14-day waiting period for firearm 
sales, but with differing provisions than SB427.  
 
                                                 
11 Silvester v. Becerra, 138 S. Ct. 945 (2018). 
12 See United States v. Carver, 260 U.S. 482, 490 (1923) (“The denial of a writ of certiorari imports no expression of 
opinion upon the merits of the case, as the bar has been told many times.”).   
13 See Innovation L. Lab v. Wolf, 951 F.3d 986, 989 (9th Cir. 2020) (“New Mexico is in the Tenth Circuit.”); 
Georgia v. President of the United States, 46 F.4th 1283, 1304 (11th Cir. 2022) (“one circuit’s decisions are not 
binding on the others.” (citations omitted)). 
14 See Cardenas v. Aztec Mun. Sch., 2022-NMCA-038, ¶ 7, cert. granted (Aug. 11, 2022) (“The equal protection 
clauses of both the United States and New Mexico Constitutions require the government to treat similarly situated 
persons the same, absent a sufficient reason to justify the disparate treatment. (quotation marks and citation 
omitted)); id. ¶ 12 (“In deciding whether individuals are similarly situated, our Supreme Court instructs us to look 
beyond the classification to the purposes of the law.” (citation omitted)); id. (“Only classifications serving the 
purposes of the statute are permitted.” (citation omitted)). 
15 See Airbnb, Inc. v. City of New York, 373 F. Supp. 3d 467, 481–82 (S.D.N.Y. 2019) (“The Ordinance . . . . is an 
act of municipal legislation that compels the production of data to an executive branch regulator. Insofar as the 
paradigmatic Fourth Amendment search ‘implies a quest by an officer of the law,’ Hale v. Henkel, 201 U.S. 43, 76, 
26 S.Ct. 370, 50 L.Ed. 652 (1906), such as a law enforcement agency, and the paradigmatic Fourth Amendment 
seizure “contemplates a forcible dispossession of the owner” of the items to be seized, id., the Ordinance is, in these 
respects, an outlier. . . .  Notwithstanding these features, the Court has little difficulty holding that the Ordinance is a 
search or seizure within the Fourth Amendment.”). 
16 State v. Gomez, 1997-NMSC-006, ¶ 24, 122 N.M. 777, 784 (“There is established New Mexico law interpreting 
Article II, Section 10 more expansively than the Fourth Amendment.” (citations omitted)).   
17 See Carpenter v. United States, 201 L. Ed. 2d 507, 138 S. Ct. 2206, 2213 (2018) (“The Fourth Amendment 
protects ‘[t]he right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable 
searches and seizures.’”). 
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SB427 relates to House Bill 101, which makes reference to the section of law SB427 proposes to 
amend (Section 30-7-7.1 NMSA 1978).  
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
DOH notes page 1, line 18, uses the word “or” despite the bill requiring both a background check 
and a required waiting period, and suggest “or” be replaced with “and.” 
 
The office of the New Mexico Attorney General (NMAG) notes the bill does not specify whether 
the waiting period is measured in calendar days or business days, and it may be helpful to clarify 
the period in question. As written, NMAG writes that it would likely be interpreted to include 
weekends and legal holidays, potentially resulting in a waiting period ending during a holiday 
when a store is not open.  
 
NMAG further notes the bill requires records of gun sales be made available for law enforcement 
agency inspection, but does not specify who must make these records available. NMAG writes 
that this “appears to be directed at records of sellers (likely businesses) rather than sellers and 
individual buyers” but “The Legislature may wish to specify which parties involved in the 
transaction must make their records available to avoid confusion, particularly if the Legislature 
does not intend for individual people to make their personal records available but does wish a 
business entity to make records available whether the entity is a buyer or seller.” 
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
The Department of Public Safety (DPS) notes the bill does not contain an exception for sales of 
firearms to certified law enforcement officers, retired certified law enforcement officers, or 
members of the New Mexico Mounted Patrol, despite those individuals having been subjected to 
a higher degree of scrutiny than individuals who hold a concealed carry license. DPS suggests 
the bill be amended to include an additional exemption for sales “to a certified law enforcement 
officer, a retired certified law enforcement officer who provides a letter from the agency from 
which the officer retired certifying that the officer was a certified law enforcement officer 
pursuant to the Law Enforcement Training Act for at least fifteen years prior to retirement, or a 
current member of the New Mexico mounted patrol.”   
 
NMAG notes the following: 
 

The bill does not specify what type of intent, or mental state (“mens rea”) is 
necessary–must the crime be committed intentionally, knowingly, negligently, is 
there no mental state requirement at all (a strict liability crime), or is some other 
mental state required?  Appellate courts will general assume that some mental 
state is required.18  The Legislature may wish to define what mental state is 
required explicitly in the text to limit future litigation. 

 

                                                 
18 See Santillanes v. State, 1993-NMSC-012, ¶ 11, 115 N.M. 215, 218 (“When a criminal statute is silent about 
whether a mens rea element is required, we do not assume that the legislature intended to enact a no-fault or strict 
liability crime. Instead, it is well settled that we presume criminal intent as an essential element of the crime unless it 
is clear from the statute that the legislature intended to omit the mens rea element.” (citation omitted, italics in 
original)).   
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PDD notes: 
 

SB427 would allow for a third-party “license holder” to be involved in a 
transaction, as a keeper of the firearm pending the waiting period, and also 
subjects these third-parties to prosecution for violation of the statute. The utility 
of this addition is unclear, and implicates constitutional vagueness doctrines and 
enforcement issues. 

 
PDD further writes: 
 

…it is as yet unclear the extent to which the third-party license holder would be 
involved in firearm transactions, what the role of such persons would be, and 
whether the proposed legislation would create constitutional concerns about the 
prosecution of such persons or the interference with businesses. 

 
ER/rl/ne/mg            


