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ANALYST Rabin 
 

REVENUE (dollars in thousands) 
 

Estimated Revenue Recurring 
or 

Nonrecurring 

Fund 
Affected FY20 FY21 FY22 

NFI $1,000.0 NFI Nonrecurring General Fund 

NFI ($1,000.0) NFI Nonrecurring 

NMCD 
Intensive 

Supervision 
Fund 

NFI ($1,500.0) ($3,000.0) Recurring 
NMCD 

Operating Fund 
(Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Revenue Decreases) 
 

ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT (dollars in thousands) 
 

 
FY20 FY21 FY22 

3 Year 
Total Cost 

Recurring or 
Nonrecurring 

Fund 
Affected 

NMCD NFI $1,500.0 $3,000.0 $4,500.0 Recurring 

General Fund 
(replacement of 
probation and 

parole fee 
revenue) 

NMCD NFI $610.0 $610.0 $610.0 Recurring 

General Fund (3 
FTE to fulfill 
provisions of 
bill related to 
medical and 

geriatric parole) 

NMCD/ 
other 

relevant 
state 

agencies 

Likely Minimal—See Fiscal Implications Recurring 

General Fund 
(savings due to 

decreased 
recidivism, 

detention, and 
incarceration) 

(Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Expenditure Decreases) 
 
Relates to Appropriation in the General Appropriation Act of 2020 
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SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Attorney General’s Office (NMAG)  
Adult Parole Board (APB)  
Department of Public Safety (DPS) 
New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD)  
Public Defender Department (PDD)  
 
Responses Regarding Original Bill Received From 
Administrative Office of the District Attorneys (AODA)  
Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) 
New Mexico Sentencing Commission (NMSC)  
 
SUMMARY 
 
     Synopsis of Bill 
 
The House Judiciary Committee Substitute for House Bill 263 makes numerous changes to 
statutes governing the state’s system of probation and parole (supervision), including amending 
the process for determining the conditions of supervision, eliminating some probation and parole 
fees, and creating a new system of medical and geriatric parole. Additionally, HB263/HJCS 
amends existing law governing violations of supervision conditions and adds two new sections 
of law related to technical supervision violations; however, as written, HB263/HJCS offers little 
change from the current system of dealing with supervision violations (for more detail, see the 
“Supervision Violations” subsection of this synopsis on pages 3 through 4 and see the 
“Supervision Violations” subsection of the “Significant Issues” section on pages 6 through 11, as 
well as Attachments 1 through 4).  
 
Supervision Conditions. Sections 1 through 4 and 6 through 8 of HB263/HJCS amend what 
supervision conditions may be imposed and what must be considered in imposing supervision 
conditions.  
 
Section 2 of HB263/HJCS amends Section 31-20-5 NMSA 1978 to add a purpose statement for 
probation, including enforcing victim restitution, holding an individual accountable for their 
actions, promoting an individual’s reintegration into society, and reducing the risk of new 
offenses.  
 
Sections 1, 3, and 7 of HB263/HJCS remove the ability of the court or Parole Board to make 
payment of probation and parole costs a condition of supervision. Section 14 reverts any 
balances in the Corrections Department’s (NMCD) intensive supervision fund on January 1, 
2021, to the general fund.  
 
Section 2 requires the court consult a validated risk and needs assessment, if provided by 
NMCD, when determining the conditions of parole; Section 6 of the bill clarifies that, on the 
order of any court, NMCD must prepare a presentence report that includes, among other relevant 
information, the results of any validated risk and needs assessment that may have been 
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administered. Section 8 also requires a judge to consult the assessment results, if available, 
before imposing an intensive supervision program as a condition of supervision. A judge may 
not require an intensive supervision program without either a recommendation from NMCD or 
consultation of a risk and needs assessment.  
 
Section 4 of this bill requires NMCD to operate supervision for both probation and parole based 
on the application of a valid risk and needs assessment and principles of effective intervention to 
reduce criminogenic risk and needs factors, focus supervision resources on the initial period of 
supervision, recommend and enforce conditions that include cognitive behavior programming to 
address criminal thinking and address basic needs and transitional requirements, and apply a 
consistent system of incentives and graduated sanctions to promptly respond to positive and 
negative behavior of supervisees.  
 
Supervision Violations. Sections 9, 10, 12, and 13 establish processes for dealing with technical 
and standard violations of supervision conditions. The exact processes established by these 
sections are complex and, in some cases, the bill’s intent is unclear. The processes that appears to 
be established, as well as potential issues, are described in the “Supervision Violations” 
subsection of the “Significant Issues” section of this analysis (pages 6 through 11) and the 
revised processes are outlined through flowcharts in Attachments 1 through 4.  
 
Effectively, the provisions of HB263/HJCS result in the following possible consequences for 
supervision violations:  
 

 For standard violations of probation conditions, the court may continue probation, revoke 
probation, or impose any other order as the court sees fit. This puts no limit on the 
consequences the board may impose and is effectively an expansion of the potential 
conditions for probation violations under current law. (See Attachment 1) 

 For standard violations of parole conditions, the board may choose to continue parole, 
revoke parole, impose a fixed term of detention up to 90 days (which is counted as time 
served), or impose any other order as the board sees fit. This puts no limit on the 
consequences the board may impose and is effectively equivalent to potential 
consequences for all parole violations under current law. (See Attachment 2) 

 For technical violations of probation conditions, NMCD may impose nondetention 
sanctions or seek a waiver from a probationer to impose a sanction of 3 or 7 days of 
detention. If the violation goes before the court for a technical violation hearing, the court 
may continue the original probation, revoke probation, or impose a sentence (for deferred 
sentences). The potential consequences imposed by the court are equivalent to potential 
consequences for all probation violations under current law. (See Attachment 3) 

 For technical violations of parole conditions, NMCD may impose nondetention sanctions 
or may seek a waiver from a parolee to impose a sanction of 3 or 7 days of detention. If 
the parolee refuses to sign the waiver, the process proceeds to “formal resolution,” which 
is undefined. Because this process is undefined, it is unclear how it compares to current 
law. (See Attachment 4) 

 
HB263/HJCS defines a standard violation as “absconding or violating any municipal or county 
ordinance or tribal, state or federal criminal law.” Absconding means that “a person under 
supervision willfully makes the person's whereabouts unknown to the person's probation and 
parole officer or willfully fails to report as ordered and, in addition, reasonable efforts by the 
probation and parole officer to locate the person have been unsuccessful.” Reasonable efforts are 
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defined as “at a minimum, checking with a probationer's or parolee's emergency contact, last 
known address, last known employment and hospitals and jails in the area.” 
 
A technical violation is defined as a violation of supervision conditions that does not constitute a 
standard violation and includes instances in which a supervisee fails to make a scheduled 
appointment and either 1) the probation and parole officer fails to perform reasonable efforts to 
locate the supervisee or 2) the supervisee makes their whereabouts known to the probation and 
parole officer or reports to the officer prior to the completion of the officer’s reasonable efforts to 
locate them. 
 
HB263/HJCS requires NMCD to report data related to probation and parole violations and 
adjudication, such as the number of warrants sought and issued, the number of arrests made, the 
number of notices to appear issued, penalties for violations, and other relevant metrics. NMCD is 
required to provide these data to the Legislature and the governor and post the information to its 
website by December 1 of each year, starting in 2021.  
 
Medical and Geriatric Parole. Section 11 codifies procedures for medical or geriatric parole, a 
form of early release. The bill specifies factors for NMCD to consider when recommending an 
inmate for such parole, including age, health, institutional behavior, risk for violence, and other 
alternatives. The final decision is left to the Parole Board, but the board shall release an inmate 
on medical or geriatric parole upon recommendation from NMCD unless the board finds by clear 
and convincing evidence that the inmate’s release is incompatible with the welfare of society. 
The board must state the reasons for such a finding in writing and cannot deny medical or 
geriatric parole solely because of the inmate’s criminal history. Section 15 repeals Section 31-21-
25.1, which previously gave the parole board the authority to grant early parole to geriatric or 
medically incapacitated inmates. 
 
Other Provisions. Section 5 of HB263/HJCS amends the definitions section of the Probation and 
Parole Act to add definitions for absconding and reasonable efforts, technical and standard 
violations, and geriatric, permanently incapacitated, and terminally ill inmates. The bill also 
updates the definitions of institution and director to align with NMCD’s current organizational 
structure and facilities and amends the definition of probation to include release of individuals 
under conditional discharge and remove the requirement that individuals have been found guilty 
of a crime upon verdict or plea. 
 
Section 16 specifies that the provisions of Sections 12 and 13 of HB263/HJCS apply to all 
individuals on supervision on January 1, 2021, and all individuals whose supervision commences 
after January 1, 2021. The provisions of Sections 2, 4, 6, and 8 that pertain to the use of risk and 
needs assessments apply to judges determining conditions of probation, persons waiting to be 
sentenced, persons on supervision, and persons placed on supervision on or after July 1, 2021.  
Section 17 specifies that the effective date of this bill is January 1, 2021. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
The Sentencing Commission (NMSC) notes the average per-day cost to incarcerate someone in 
the state’s prison system is $110.74 (about $40.4 thousand annually); this average includes 
private and public facilities. The average cost for detaining an individual in a jail is $95/day 
(about $34.7 thousand annually).  
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Supervision Conditions. NMCD’s Probation and Parole Division receives significant revenues 
from probation and parole fees charged to offenders. HB263/HJCS would remove these fees and 
would revert the balance in the department’s intensive supervision fund to the general fund. 
NMCD estimates it receives about $3 million in annual revenue from these funds; this analysis 
estimates removing this funding source for half of FY21 would result in about $1.5 million in 
decreased revenue and additional general fund operating costs, while in future fiscal years the 
impact would be the full $3 million. NMCD estimates that the balance remaining in the intensive 
supervision fund on January 1, 2021, will be about $1 million.  
 
Requiring NMCD to orient its supervision policies around risk and needs assessments may create 
some additional costs; however, the current version of the General Appropriation Act of 2020 
includes a $750 thousand recurring appropriation to NMCD to expand the administration of risk 
and needs assessment to the supervision population, which should cover most of these costs.  
 
Supervision Violations. It is unclear if the provisions of this bill addressing violations of 
supervision conditions will increase detention or reincarceration of supervisees. It is not possible 
to establish whether the provisions of this bill will increase or decrease detention of parolees 
prior to adjudication of an accusation of parole violation, and therefore the fiscal impact cannot 
be estimated. This bill will likely decrease total detention of alleged probation violators pre-
adjudication, which would have some positive fiscal impact to jails and courts but is unlikely to 
directly impact the state’s prison system. The changes made to the consequences for technical 
and standard probation and parole violations are either minimal or unclear and are unlikely to 
have a significant fiscal impact. 
 
While NMCD did not include a description of its current policies regarding violations in the 
analysis submitted for the introduced version of this bill, it is unlikely the provisions of Section 
12 will have a substantial impact, fiscal or otherwise, on its operations, because the system 
NMCD is instructed to develop is very open-ended. Because the formal resolution process noted 
in Section 13 is not defined, it is unclear what impact this section might have on the department.  
 
Additional discussion of the changes made to supervision violation processes, and the difficulties 
faced in establishing the impact of those changes, are included in the “Supervision Violations” 
section of the “Significant Issues” section of this analysis on pages 6 through 11, and the 
processes are outlined in Attachments 1 through 4.  
 
Medical and Geriatric Parole. A 2018 LFC program evaluation found in FY18 the Parole Board 
received 19 applications for medical parole and granted five, or 26 percent. Of the 19 
applications, two were for inmates who were either discharged or dead. Overall, the board held 
3,811 hearings; medical parole applications accounted for 0.5 percent of total activity. In 2008, 
the Pew Center on the States’ Public Safety Performance Project identified the average cost of an 
older prisoner to be $70 thousand per year. Accounting for medical inflation, the LFC evaluation 
estimated the state paid about $1.1 million in FY18 for geriatric medical costs alone that could 
have been avoided.   
 
In its analysis of the medical and geriatric provisions of a similar bill in the 2019 session 
(HB564), NMCD estimated that the fiscal impact of these provisions would be significant, as the 
department may need to consult with its medical vendor or other medical staff to determine if a 
particular inmate’s medical or physical conditions makes them terminally ill or permanently and 
irreversibly physically incapacitated. In that analysis, NMCD estimated it would need to hire a 
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medical director, psychiatric director, and an epidemiologist to accurately make such 
assessments; NMCD estimated the cost of salaries and benefits for those positions to total $610 
thousand annually.  
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
Supervision Conditions 
 
Section 6 states that, upon the order of any court, NMCD must prepare a presentence report that 
includes the results of any validated risk and needs assessment that may have been administered. 
In its analysis of the introduced version of HB263, NMCD noted that it would not generally have 
an assessment completed pre-adjudication. Additionally, the bill does not define “validated risk 
and needs assessment” or “validated,” so it is not clear what assessments would qualify under the 
provisions of this bill. Assessments may be validated across different populations and validation 
may be vendor-driven or provided independently. The vast difference in interpretations of 
validation may cause issues when implementing the provisions of this bill and such ambiguities 
may lead to litigation. It may therefore be desirable to add a definition to clarify legislative intent 
regarding what qualifies as a validated risk and needs assessment.  
 
The language of Section 4 requires NMCD recommend cognitive behavioral programming as a 
condition for all supervisees. While some cognitive behavioral programming is evidence-based, 
the bill does not require supervisees be enrolled in evidence-based programs. Additionally, 
cognitive behavioral programming may not be the best programming option for all offenders. 
This provision may limit NMCD’s flexibility to make recommendations best suited for 
individual offenders. Additionally, Section 8 removes the maximum caseload of 40 offenders for 
probation and parole officers providing intensive supervision programs and instead requires 
officers have “the training, resources and caseloads that allow them to operate effectively,” 
which creates room for differing interpretations and potential litigation over what constitutes 
effective operations and what training, resources, and caseloads are sufficient to allow this.  
 
Section 8 requires an individual score as high risk on a validated risk and needs assessment to be 
recommended for intensive supervision but does not define “high risk.” Not all assessments 
qualify offenders in those terms, and the definitions they use may vary by vendor. This 
ambiguity leaves significant room for interpretation and potential disagreement and litigation.  
 
Supervision Violations 
 
HB263/HJCS creates separate systems to deal with “standard” and “technical” violations of 
probation and parole conditions. Standard violations are defined as absconding or violating any 
municipal or county ordinance or tribal, state, or federal law, while technical violations 
encompass any other violations of supervision conditions and includes instances in which a 
supervisee fails to make a scheduled appointment and either 1) the probation and parole officer 
fails to perform reasonable efforts to locate the supervisee or 2) the supervisee makes their 
whereabouts known to the probation and parole officer or reports to the officer prior to the 
completion of the officer’s reasonable efforts to locate them.  
  
Standard violations include “violating any municipal or county ordinance or tribal, state or 
federal criminal law.” The Public Defender Department (PDD) notes the second “or” in the 
clause separates ordinances from the modifier of “criminal.” As a result, PDD states “It would 
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seem that violating most ordinances, like getting a parking ticket, a citation for having a dog off 
leash, etc., should be considered a technical violation at most (or should not be a violation of 
probation or parole conditions at all).” To target the commission of new crimes, PDD 
recommends limiting standard violations to violating any “municipal, county, tribal, state, or 
federal criminal law.” 
 
PDD also raises concerns that the definition of “absconding,” which is a standard violation, still 
includes a large category of violations related to missed appointments that the department 
believes should be sanctioned as technical violations. 
 
Sanctions. Sections 12 and 13 of HB263/HJCS establish a system for NMCD to impose 
intermediate sanctions on individuals who commit technical violations of supervision conditions 
prior to bringing violators before the court or Parole Board for probation or parole revocation 
hearings. Section 12 requires NMCD to develop an incentives and sanctions system to guide 
responses to negative and positive behavior by supervisees and requires such a system to provide 
for graduated responses to technical violations in a swift, certain, and proportional manner; 
however, the bill does not specify what those graduated responses will be, except to note they 
may include nondetention sanctions or detention sanctions of three or seven days, which shall be 
counted as time served under the supervisee’s sentence. The bill does not specifically prohibit 
the department from using other periods of detention as sanctions. The lack of clarity offered by 
these provisions may create ambiguity in interpretation and lead to litigation.  
 
Under Section 13 of this bill, probation and parole officers who wish to impose detention for a 
technical violation must receive the approval of their supervisors and must seek a signed waiver 
from the supervisee acknowledging the violation and accepting the proposed detention sanction. 
If the waiver for a probationer is rejected, the officer must report the alleged violation to the 
court, which is expected to trigger a technical violation process under Section 10. If the waiver 
for a parolee is rejected, the officer must report the alleged violation to the Parole Board and 
proceed to formal resolution (not defined; see “Hearings or Other Adjudication,” pages 10 
through 11).  
 
PDD notes the provisions of Section 13 requiring supervisees to receive advice of counsel before 
signing a waiver to allow a detention sanction raises serious questions about the scope of PPD 
representation. According to PPD, it could be argued that attorneys who currently only begin 
working on a probation violation case to defend an allegation of a violation in a court of law 
would be required to appear to advise nonclients about waiving a courtroom adjudication, 
including for parolees who normally do not receive PPD representation at all. PPD states it is not 
realistic for counsel to advise a supervisee at the time a probation or probation officer wants to 
seek incarceration on a technical violation, and instead recommends incorporating the waiver 
process into the original sentencing hearing when the court originally orders probation and/or 
parole. 
 
Arrest or Notice to Appear and Detention Pending Hearings for Probationers. The overall 
effect of the provisions of HB263/HJCS on arresting probationers, issuing probationers notices 
to appear, and detaining probationers pending hearings will likely be to decrease total detention 
because under current law all alleged probation violations may result in detention. Under 
HB263/HJCS, the only probationers who may be detained are those who are alleged to have 
committed standard violations or who are alleged to have committed a technical violation but are 
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on probation due to a plea or conviction for a sex offense, serious violent offense, or human 
trafficking offense. 
 
Under current law, a warrant or notice to appear may be issued for probationers who are believed 
to have committed any violation. Probationers arrested under a warrant shall be detained until the 
time of a parole revocation hearing. Probationers may also be arrested without a warrant and 
detained until the time of a hearing if the director of NMCD’s Probation and Parole Division 
(“the director”) determines they have committed any violation. 
 
Under the provisions of Section 10 of HB263/HJCS, probationers alleged to have committed a 
standard violation may be arrested with or without a warrant, and may be detained until the time 
of a hearing. For probationers alleged to have committed a technical violation, the court may 
issue a notice to appear, at which point the court will initiate a technical violation hearing (see 
“Hearings or Other Adjudication,” pages 10 through 11).  
 
The court may issue a warrant for the arrest of a probationer for an alleged technical violation if 
the individual is on probation due to a plea or conviction for a sex offense, serious violent 
offense, or human trafficking offense. The issuance of a warrant is not specifically clarified to 
authorize detention; this analysis assumes a warrant may contain such authorization, but it may 
be helpful to provide additional clarification here; such clarity does exist under current law. 
HB263/HJCS does not establish a process for arresting such offenders alleged to have committed 
technical violations without a warrant. HB263/HJCS does not establish that these probationers 
should be treated, for purposes of hearings, in the same manner as those alleged to have 
committed standard violations, so it is assumed these probationers will also be subject to a 
technical violation hearing, rather than a probation revocation hearing.  
 
A probationer alleged to have committed a technical violation may be arrested without a warrant 
if a probation and parole officer believes they pose a flight risk or danger to the community, but 
the bill does not provide authority for them to be detained pending a hearing. Additionally, the 
bill does not establish that these probationers should be treated, for purposes of hearings, in the 
same manner as those alleged to have committed standard violations, so it is assumed these 
probationers will also be subject to a technical violation hearing, rather than a probation 
revocation hearing. 
 
These provisions are illustrated in Attachments 1 and 3.  
 
Arrest or Notice to Appear and Detention Pending Hearings for Parolees. The overall effect of 
the provisions of HB263/HJCS governing arresting parolees, issuing parolees notices to appear, 
and detaining parolees pending hearings is to require all parolees accused of standard violations 
to be detained while not providing authority for any parolees accused of technical violations to 
be detained. Because current law gives the director and the Parole Board some discretion over 
detention, it is unclear what impact this change may have. 
 
Under current law, a warrant or notice to appear may be issued for parolees believed to have 
committed any violation. Parolees arrested under a warrant shall be detained until the time of a 
parole revocation hearing. Parolees may also be arrested without a warrant if the director 
determines they have committed any violation and may only be detained until the time of the 
hearing if authorized by the director or the Parole Board.  
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Under the provisions of Section 9 of HB263/HJCS, parolees alleged to have committed standard 
violations may be arrested with a warrant issued by the Parole Board or the director or without a 
warrant if authorized by the director. While the bill states the Parole Board or director must 
authorize detention, Subsection B of Section 9 states that parolees shall remain incarcerated 
pending a hearing for a charge of a standard violation; as a result, it appears all parolees charged 
with a standard violation must be detained.  
 
The director or the Parole Board may issue a notice to appear for parolees alleged to have 
committed a technical violation, which shall initiate a technical violation process in accordance 
with Sections 12 and 13 of this bill (see “Hearings or Other Adjudication,” pages 10 through 11). 
 
A parolee who is on parole due to a plea or conviction for a sex offense, serious violent offense, 
or human trafficking offense may also be arrested without a warrant if a probation and parole 
officer judges the parolee has committed a technical parole violation or believes the parolee to be 
a flight risk or a danger to the community. HB263/HJCS does not establish a process for issuing 
a warrant for such offenders alleged to have committed technical violations; significantly, the 
authority for arresting without a warrant is shifted from the director to a probation and parole 
officer. Additionally, the bill does not establish a process for detention of these parolees or 
establish they should be treated (for purposes of detention or parole revocation hearings) in the 
same manner as parolees alleged to have committed standard violations. Therefore, for purposes 
of this analysis, it is assumed these offenders will also be addressed by the process outlined in 
Sections 12 and 13 for technical violations, and the bill does not appear to provide authority for 
them to be detained while that process unfolds.  
 
These provisions are illustrated in Attachments 2 and 4.  
 
Fugitive Status. Under current law, supervisees for whom a warrant has been issued but cannot 
be served are declared fugitives from justice. If it appears the supervisee has committed a 
violation, the Parole Board or court shall determine whether the time between the time of the 
alleged violation to the date of the supervisee’s arrest, or any part of it, shall be counted as time 
served. Under the provisions of HB263/HJCS, supervisees for whom a warrant has been issued 
but cannot be served are still declared fugitives; this may only include parolees alleged to have 
committed standard violations, but may include probationers alleged to have committed standard 
violations as well as those who are alleged to have committed technical violations and are on 
probation due to a plea or conviction for a sex offense, serious violent offense, or human 
trafficking offense, as a warrant may be issued for their arrest. Because the bill does not include 
a process for issuing warrants for parolees alleged to have committed technical violations who 
are on probation due to a plea or conviction for a sex offense, serious violent offense, or human 
trafficking offense, those parolees cannot be declared fugitives. 
 
Under the provisions of Section 10 of HB263/HJCS, as under current law, for probationers 
declared fugitives, the court shall determine whether the time between the alleged violation to 
the date of the probationer’s arrest, or any part of it, shall be counted as time served. However, 
Section 9 creates a new subsection specifying the Parole Board shall determine if the time 
between any parolee’s alleged violation and their arrest, or any part of it, shall count as time 
served (this applies to all parolees, not just those declared fugitives). It is unclear what effect this 
will have. 
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Hearings or Other Adjudication. The provisions of HB263/HJCS make minimal or unclear 
changes to the current consequences a supervisee may face for committing a technical or 
standard violation. Parolees who commit standard violations or probationers who commit 
technical violations face the same consequences under HB263/HJCS as under current law, while 
probationers who commit standard violations may face any consequence the court sees fit to 
impose—a broader set of consequences than under existing law. It is unclear what consequences 
parolees who commit technical violations may face, as the process for addressing such violations 
is left up to NMCD or, if NMCD wishes to impose detention, may result in an undefined process 
of formal resolution.    
 
Under current law, parolees who are arrested and detained are guaranteed a prompt parole 
revocation hearing before the Parole Board. If any violation is established to have occurred, the 
board may continue the parole, revoke the parole, or enter any other order it sees fit.  
 
Under Section 9 of HB263/HJCS, only parolees charged with standard violations receive a 
parole revocation hearing. If a standard violation is established to have occurred, the board may 
continue the parole, revoke the parole, impose detention for a fixed term up to 90 days (which 
shall count as time served), or enter any other order it sees fit. While this enumerates another 
option for the outcome of these hearings, it does not substantively alter the options offered to the 
board to address standard violations, as both HB253/HJCS and current law include the option for 
the board to enter any other order it sees fit.  
 
Parolees alleged to have committed technical violations (including those on parole due to a plea 
or conviction for a sex offense, serious violent offense, or human trafficking offense) undergo 
the technical violation process outlined in Sections 12 and 13 of HB263/HJCS. This section is 
focused on the process for seeking detention of a supervisee alleged to have committed a 
technical offense. If the parolee refuses to sign a waiver allowing their detention, the process 
moves to formal resolution, which is undefined. 
 
Under current law, probationers receive a hearing before the court on any violation charged. If 
the violation is established, the court may continue the original probation or revoke the probation 
and either order a new probation (with any condition provided for in Section 31-20-5 or 31-20-6 
NMSA 1978) or require the probationer to serve the balance of the sentence imposed or any 
other lesser sentence. In cases of deferred sentences, the court may impose any sentence that 
might originally have been imposed, but the probationer shall receive credit for time served on 
probation. 
 
Under Section 10 of HB263/HJCS, probationers charged with standard violations receive a 
probation revocation hearing before the court. If the standard violation is established, the court 
may continue probation, revoke probation, or enter any other order it sees fit. In effect, 
HB263/HJCS broadens the options for sanctions the court may impose on probationers for 
standard violations.  
 
Probationers charged with technical violations receive a technical violation hearing. If the 
technical violation is established, the court may continue the original probation or revoke the 
probation and either order a new probation (with any condition provided for in Section 31-20-5 
or 31-20-6 NMSA 1978) or require the probationer to serve the balance of the sentence imposed 
or any other lesser sentence. In cases of deferred sentences, the court may impose any sentence 
that might originally have been imposed, but the probationer shall receive credit for time served 
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on probation. Essentially, this maintains the same process for technical violations as exists under 
current law.  
 

These processes are illustrated in Attachments 1 through 4.  
 
Medical and Geriatric Parole 
 
The Parole Board raises the concern that shifting duties related to medical and geriatric parole to 
NMCD violates the board’s enabling statute. Under Section 31-21-25 NMSA 1978, only the 
board has the powers and duty to grant, deny, or revoke parole.  
 
NMSC notes that, as of June 30, 2018, 3 percent of the state’s confined male population and 1 
percent of the confined female population was 65 or older. 
 
RELATIONSHIP 
 
The current version of the General Appropriation Act of 2020 includes a $750 thousand 
recurring appropriation to NMCD to expand the administration of risk and needs assessment to 
the supervision population, which may cover most of the increased costs of expanding use of risk 
and needs assessments for supervision as required in this bill.  
 
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
To address concerns raised in the “Significant Issues” section of this analysis (pages 6 through 
11), the terms “formal resolution,” “validated risk and needs assessment,” and “high risk” should 
be defined. Failing to define these terms results in significant ambiguity and may lead to 
differing interpretations and resultant litigation.  
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
In October 2018, the Legislative Finance Committee released a program evaluation of the 
Corrections Department. According to New Mexico Sentencing Commission data, those 
returning to prison represented 41 percent of all 
admissions in FY17. In FY17, NMCD reported a 
recidivism rate over 50 percent for the first time in the 
past decade, a 5 percent increase since FY10 or the 
equivalent of approximately $6 million per year in 
additional costs. 
 
One of the report’s findings encouraged NMCD to 
improve case management of parolees to ensure 
connection to services, implement evidence-based 
programs statewide (including graduated interventions, 
short jail-time, etc.) to maximize attempts to divert 
offenders from full revocation. 
 
According to the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) and 
the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMSHA), the most important step in 
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reentry planning is obtaining information about an individual’s risk of reoffending and 
programmatic needs. Once a validated risk and needs instrument is used, the implementation of 
evidence-based programs can be better targeted to individual inmates to achieve outcomes like 
recidivism reduction, educational attainment, stable housing, and consistent employment. The 
U.S. Department of Justice identifies five principles of recidivism reduction, four of which are 
highlighted below:  
 

 Principle I: On incarceration, every inmate should be provided an individualized reentry 
plan tailored to his or her risk of recidivism and programmatic needs.  

 Principle II: While incarcerated, each inmate should be provided education, employment 
training, life skills, substance abuse, mental health, and other programs that target their 
criminogenic needs and maximize their likelihood of success upon release.  

 Principle III: Before leaving custody, every person should be provided comprehensive 
reentry-related information and access to resources necessary to succeed in the 
community. 

 Principle IV: During transition back to the community, halfway houses, and supervised 
release programs should ensure individualized continuity of care for returning citizens. 

 
The 2018 LFC evaluation also recommended that NMCD 
work with state health agencies to discuss methods of 
incentivizing long-term care providers in the community to 
accept medical parole-eligible inmates to make better use of 
medical parole rules. Section 31-21-25.1 NMSA 1978 
provides for approval or denial of applications by inmates 
for medical and geriatric parole for low-risk geriatric, 
permanently incapacitated, or terminally ill inmates. 
However, statute does not require the department to report 
on inmates eligible for medical parole for consideration by 
the Parole Board. 
 

Many inmates in New Mexico are not granted medical 
parole because correctional staff cannot arrange for a long-
term care facility (LTC) placement for them. Regulations 
surrounding LTC facilities are numerous, including federal 
rule F224 established by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services, which states, “Each resident has the right to be free from mistreatment, 
neglect and misappropriation of property. This includes the facility’s identification of residents 
whose personal histories render them at risk for abusing other residents, and development of 
intervention strategies to prevent occurrences, monitoring for changes that would trigger abusive 
behavior, and reassessment of the interventions on a regular basis.” According to NMCD, rule 
F224 is often used as justification by LTC facilities for denying patients with felony history. As a 
result, inmates who need care that is difficult to obtain in prison settings remain incarcerated, 
driving up medical costs. 
 
The LFC report explains “Efforts should be made by the Human Services Department and the 
Department of Health to develop incentives for long term care and nursing home providers to 
accept hard-to-place patients, including those with criminal backgrounds. Strategies like 
providing special insurance or bonds to help mitigate risk for providers who accept hard-to-place 
individuals may help enhance the use of medical parole.” 

Extreme, 
11%

High, 
23%

Medium, 
46%

Minimum
, 20%

Assessed Risk Level of People 
Starting Supervision (N=17,466) 

(Between 1/1/2011 and 
12/31/2012)

Source: New Mexico Statistical Analy sis Center
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Attachments 

1. HB263/HJCS Process for Addressing Standard Probation Violations 
2. HB263/HJCS Process for Addressing Standard Parole Violations 
3. HB263/HJCS Process for Addressing Technical Probation Violations 
4. HB263/HJCS Process for Addressing Technical Parole Violations 
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Attachment 1House Judiciary Committee Substitute for House Bill 263 Process 
for Addressing Standard Probation Violations

Probationer alleged to
have committed

standard violation

Arrested with a
warrant

Arrested without a
warrant

Probation revocation
hearing before the

court

Warrant can be
served

Warrant cannot be
served

Apprehended

Fugitive status

NOTES:
**Offender is detained
***Court options under bill represent effective expansion 
of options offered under current statute

Probationer
detained pending

hearing**

Continue probation Revoke probation**

Any other order as
the court sees fit

(may include
detention)**

If probationer was a fugitive, court
determines if time between

violation date and arrest date, or
part of time, will be counted as

time served on probation

Violation not
established Violation established

Release/return to
existing probation

conditions

Court may:***



Attachment 2

Parolee alleged to
have committed

standard violation

Arrested with a
warrant

Arrested without a
warrant

Parole revocation
hearing before the

board

Warrant can be
served

Warrant cannot be
served

Apprehended

Fugitive status

NOTES:
**Offender is detained
***Board options under bill are effectively the same as current statute 
(adds new option, but "any other order" was already an option, so this 
does not change the options actually available to the board)

Parolee detained
pending hearing**

Continue parole Revoke parole**

Any other order as
the board sees fit

(may include
detention)**

For ALL PAROLEES (whether
fugitive or not) board determines if
time between violation date and

arrest date, or part of time, will be
counted as time served on parole

Violation not
established Violation established

Release/return to
existing parole

conditions

Board may:***

Impose up to 90 days
of detention (counted

as time served)**

House Judiciary Committee Substitute for House Bill 263 Process 
for Addressing Standard Parole Violations



Probationer alleged to
have committed

technical violation

Graduated sanctions
per Sec. 12 and 13

Court issues notice to
appear

Arrested with a
warrant ("serious
offenders" only)*

Arrested without a
warrant (if believed to

be a flight risk or
significant danger)*****

Technical violation
hearing before the

court

Violation not
established

Released and
returned to existing
probation conditions

Continue original
probation Revoke probation

Order new probation
with any condition

currently provided for
in probation statutes

If imposition of sentence was deferred, impose any sentence
that might originally have been imposed (credit given for time

served on probation) (may include detention)**

Require probationer
to serve balance of

sentence**

Warrant can be
served****

Warrant cannot be
served

Apprehended****

If probationer was a fugitive, court
determines if time between

violation date and arrest date, or
part of time, will be counted as

time served on probation

Officer seeks
detention sanction

Officer seeks non-
detention sanction

(with supervisor's
approval) officer

seeks waiver

Sanctioned per
system established
pursuant to Sec. 12

Probationer signs
waiver

Probationer refuses
to sign waiverOfficer informs court

3- or 7-day detention
sanction

Fugitive status

NOTES:
*For purposes of this diagram, "serious offenses" include sex offenses,
serious violent offenses, and human trafficking offenses
**Offender is detained
***Court options under bill are the same as under current statute
****Bill does not explicitly provide authority for detention of offenders
alleged to have committed technical violations arrested with a warrant, but
a warrant is assumed to convey such authority.
*****Bill does not explicitly provide authority for detention of offenders
arrested without a warrant

Violation established

Probationer
detained pending

hearing**

Court may:***

House Judiciary Committee Substitute for House Bill 263 Process 
for Addressing Technical Probation Violations
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Attachment 4

Parolee alleged to
have committed

technical violation

Graduated sanctions
per Sec. 12 and 13

Board issues notice
to appear

Arrested without a warrant (if serious
offender* or if believed to be a flight

risk or significant danger)****

Officer seeks
detention sanction

Officer seeks non-
detention sanction

(with supervisor's
approval) officer

seeks waiver

Sanctioned per
system established
pursuant to Sec. 12

Probationer signs
waiver

Probationer refuses
to sign waiver

"Formal resolution"
(undefined)

3- or 7-day detention
sanction

NOTES:
*For purposes of this diagram, "serious offenses" include sex
offenses, serious violent offenses, and human trafficking offenses
**Offender is detained
***Court options under bill are the same as under current statute
****Bill does not provide authority for detention of offenders
arrested without a warrant

Technical violation
process per Sec. 12

and 13

House Judiciary Committee Substitute for House Bill 263 Process 
for Addressing Technical Parole Violations
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