[bracketed material]

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

SENATE MEMORIAL 45

53rd legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2018

INTRODUCED BY

Benny Shendo, Jr.

A MEMORIAL

REQUESTING THE SENATE TO CONGRATULATE THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW MEXICO WOMEN'S CROSS COUNTRY TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2017 NATIONAL COLLEGIATE ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION CHAMPIONSHIP.

WHEREAS, the university of New Mexico women's cross country team was ranked second in the country as they entered the national collegiate athletic association division one cross country championships in Louisville, Kentucky, in November 2017; and

WHEREAS, the Lobo women won the national title for the second time in three years, joining their national win in 2015 and becoming the ninth team in national collegiate athletic association history to win multiple titles in women's cross country; and

WHEREAS, this victory was the team's eighth straight top-.209918.1

ten performance at the national collegiate athletic association championships, which is the longest active streak in national collegiate athletic association history; and

WHEREAS, the Lobo women placed four scorers in the top

WHEREAS, the Lobo women placed four scorers in the top fifteen, including a dominant performance by individual winner Ednah Kurgat; and

WHEREAS, Ednah Kurgat's time of nineteen minutes, nineteen and forty-two one hundredths seconds is the fastest in championship history since the national collegiate athletic association moved the race distance up from five thousand meters in 2000; and

WHEREAS, the top Lobo scorers — Ednah Kurgat, Weini Kelati, Charlotte Prouse and Alice Wright — all earned all-American honors and were joined on the team by Alondra Negron Texidor, Alex Buck and Kieran Casey; and

WHEREAS, this is the second national title for coach Joe Franklin as he also led the team to the 2015 national collegiate athletic association title; and

WHEREAS, the Lobo women's 2017 national title is the third national collegiate athletic association title in the university of New Mexico's history, joining their win in 2015 and the 2004 national title won by the university of New Mexico's skiing program;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that congratulations be extended to the

.209918.1

university of New Mexico women's cross-country team and coach

Joe Franklin for their remarkable season and an outstanding

national victory; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this memorial be transmitted to the university of New Mexico women's cross country coach Joe Franklin.

- 3 -