11 12 13 14 15 20

16

17

18

19

21

22

23

24

25

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

SENATE MEMORIAL 37

53RD LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2018

INTRODUCED BY

Pete Campos

A MEMORIAL

DECLARING FEBRUARY 6 THROUGH FEBRUARY 12, 2018 "NEW MEXICO FILM WEEK" IN THE SENATE.

WHEREAS, in 2018, New Mexico is commemorating one hundred twenty years of film production in the state with the anniversary of the Thomas A. Edison company's filming of Indian Day School in the New Mexico territory in 1898; and

WHEREAS, the New Mexico film office is celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of its founding by then-Governor David Cargo; and

WHEREAS, New Mexico established the first film office in the United States; and

WHEREAS, New Mexico is celebrating the thirtieth anniversary of the release of The Milagro Beanfield War, which was shot in northern New Mexico; and

.209592.1

WHEREAS, New Mexico is celebrating the tenth anniversary of the iconic television series *Breaking Bad*; and

WHEREAS, New Mexico is celebrating the fifth anniversary of the release of the motion picture *Bless Me*, *Ultima*; and

WHEREAS, the New Mexico film and television hall of fame, at its inaugural banquet and awards ceremony, will acknowledge these anniversaries and will recognize and induct into the New Mexico film and television hall of fame the grande dame of New Mexico film, Imogene Hughes; world-famous author and producer George R.R. Martin; writer and filmmaker Max Evans; author John Nichols; director Robert Redford; author Rudolfo Anaya; producer Stewart Lyons; producer Moctesuma Esparza; and, from the New Mexico film office, Max Evans and Nick Maniatis; and

WHEREAS, the New Mexico film and television hall of fame will honor as rising stars director and writer Hannah Macpherson, cinematographer Consuelo Althouse, actor MorningStar Angeline and director Joshua Oppenheimer; and

WHEREAS, the New Mexico film and television hall of fame will recognize in memoriam location manager Alan Swain, construction coordinator Chip Radaelli, cinematographer Lexie Shabel and projectionist Ross Krantz; and

WHEREAS, New Mexico is celebrating four record years of film and television production and is recognizing a commitment to maintaining comprehensive film incentives to keep New Mexico competitive, create new jobs throughout the state and give

.209592.1

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

opportunities to young New Mexicans to participate in the film and television industry;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that February 6 through February 12, 2018 be declared "New Mexico Film Week" in the senate; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the state's long history of producing award-winning film and television by world-renowned crews, directors, writers and actors and its commitment to the future of the film and television industry in New Mexico be acknowledged; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the governor and the director of the New Mexico film office.

- 3 -