SENATE	BTT.T.	541
	$\nu_{\perp}$	$\mathcal{I}$

## 48TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2007

### INTRODUCED BY

#### Richard C. Martinez

6

5

1

2

3

7

8 9

10

11 12

13

14

# 15

16 17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

AN ACT

RELATING TO THE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMISSION; ADDING TWO LOCAL GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE COMMISSION AS PROVIDED BY LAWS 2003, CHAPTER 49, SECTION 4.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. Section 15-1C-4 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1999, Chapter 16, Section 4, as amended by Laws 2003, Chapter 49, Section 4 and by Laws 2003, Chapter 308, Section 4) is amended to read:

"15-1C-4. COMMISSION CREATED--MEMBERSHIP.--

- The "information technology commission" is The commission consists of [thirteen] fifteen members created. as follows:
- five members appointed by the governor, (1) three of whom are from agencies whose primary funding is not .165259.1

from	internal	service	funds:

- (2) one staff member with telecommunications regulatory experience appointed by the [chairman] chair of the public regulation commission;
- (3) two members representing education, one appointed by the [commission on] secretary of higher education and one appointed by the [president of the state board of] secretary of public education;
- (4) two members from the national laboratories;
- (5) three members appointed by the governor to represent the public with information technology and management experience, but who are not employees of the state or a political subdivision of the state and who do not have any financial interest in the state information systems or state contracts. The public members shall serve for staggered three-year terms; and
- (6) two members representing local government, one appointed by the New Mexico association of counties and one appointed by the New Mexico municipal league.
- B. Additionally, the following advisory members may serve on the commission:
- (1) two members from the judicial information systems council appointed by the [chairman] chair of that council;

.165259.1

(2) one staff member from the legislative	
council service and one staff member from the legislative	
finance committee, appointed by their respective directors;	and

the chief information officer.

- C. Members of the commission, except the three public members appointed by the governor, may select designees to represent them and vote on their behalf.
- D. The members of the commission who are not supported by public money, or their designees, may receive per diem and mileage pursuant to the Per Diem and Mileage Act, but shall receive no other compensation, perquisite or allowance.
- E. The commission shall elect a [chairman] chair and vice [chairman] chair from the active membership of the commission for two-year terms.
- F. The commission shall meet at least semiannually and may meet at the call of the [chairman] chair or a majority of the members."

- 3 -