1	SENATE BILL 12
2	45TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2001
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Bernadette M. Sanchez
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING
12	CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO
13	THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING A PROVISION OF THE
14	ELECTION CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND
15	ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.
16	
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
18	Section 1. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991
19	(1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new
20	Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:
21	"1-15-16. [<u>NEW MATERIAL</u>] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE
22	COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS
23	A. Congressional district one is composed of
24	Bernalillo county precincts 1, 20 through 55, 61 through 67,
25	71 through 77, 80 through 85, 87 through 92, 97, 99, 111
	. 138906. 1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed mterial] = delete

I

through 114 and 120; Catron county; Cibola county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Luna county; McKinley county; San Juan county; Sandoval county; Socorro county; and Valencia county.

B. Congressional district two is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 93 through 96, 98, 101 through 107, 121 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 194 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289, 290, 294, 296, 326 through 328, 330 through 333, 341 through 346, 351 through 358, 371, 374, 375, 381 through 387, 431 through 433, 435 through 437, 442 through 444, 551 through 554 and 571; Chaves county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Otero county; Sierra county; and Torrance county.

underscored interial = new101011121314151516171819191010101011121314151516171718191910</td

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

C. Congressional district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 2 through 18, 86, 191 through 193, 291 through 293, 295, 297 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 323, 329, 347, 372, 373, 400 through 430, 434, 438 through 441, 445 through 447, 449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 550, 555 through 569, 573, 601 and 602; Colfax county; Curry county; De Baca county; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Los Alamos county; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county; Roosevelt county; San Miguel county; Santa Fe county; Taos county; and .138906.1 **1** Union county. "

2 Section 2. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read: 3 4 "1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS. --Precinct designations and boundaries used in 5 A. the [1991] 2001 congressional redistricting are those precinct 6 7 designations and boundaries established pursuant to the 8 Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved 9 pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 10 16, 1991] August 31, 2001. [The boards] A board of county commissioners 11 В. 12 shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one 13 congressional district [nor] and shall [the boards of county 14 <u>commissioners</u>] <u>not</u> divide any precinct so that the divided 15 parts of the precinct are situated in two or more 16 congressional districts. Votes cast in [any general, primary 17 or other] a statewide election from precincts created or 18 divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and 19 shall not be counted or canvassed."

- 3 -

underscored material = new [bracketed material] = delete

20

21

22

23

24

25

. 138906. 1