= new	= delete
underscored material	[bracketed_material]

1

2

3

4

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

HOUSE BILL 6

45TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, 2001 INTRODUCED BY

Danice R. Picraux

AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING A PROVISION OF THE ELECTION CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS: AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 Section 1. (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS. --

Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 18, 20 through 30, 32 through 55, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 80 through 92, 94 . 138902. 1

through 99, 101 through 107, 111 through 114, 120 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 302, 304 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 447, 449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 550, 560 through 569, 601 and 602; and Sandoval county precincts 1 through 5, 11 through 13, 28 through 50, 53 through 56, 58 through 64 and 67.

- B. Congressional district two is composed of Catron county; Chaves county; De Baca county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county; Grant county; Guadalupe county; Hidalgo county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Luna county; Otero county; Sierra county; Socorro county precincts 1 through 14, 16 and 17; Torrance county precincts 1 through 4 and 6 through 13; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 12 and 14 through 38.
- C. Congressional district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 31, 93, 303, 551 through 559, 571 and 573; Cibola county; Colfax county; Curry county; Harding county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county; Roosevelt county; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval county precincts 6 through 10, 14 through 27 and 51; Santa Fe county; Socorro county precinct

. 138902. 1

15; Taos county; Torrance county precinct 5; Union county; and Valencia county precinct 13."

Section 2. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16. 1. PRECINCTS. --

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2001 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] August 31, 2001.

B. [The boards] A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district [nor] and shall [the boards of county commissioners] not divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in [any general, primary or other] a statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

- 3 -