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“ The Public Education Department distributed
Oan additional $19.6 million to school districts

and charter schools through a $31.34

increase in the FY18 unit value, the amount distrib-
uted to school districts for each enrollment-based
funding formula unit. The Legislature authorized
the department to distribute up to $10 million
more through an update of the unit value, although
not the $19.6 million allocated. The final FY18 unit
value with the increase was $4,115.60.
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2 The Regulation and Licensing Department is
considering a rule that would require school
security guards to be at least 24 years old,

be a retired law enforcement officer or an honor-
ably discharged veteran, receive school-specific
training, and meet the psychological testing and
other requirements of level-three state security
guard licensure. Currently, any school employee
can act as an armed security guard.

= More than $90,000 remains in the

kindergarten-plus fund five years after state

law required the Public Education Depart-
ment to transfer the money to the fund for K-3 Plus,
which replaced the kindergarten-only program.
In addition, the Legjslature in 2017 repealed the
kindergarten plus fund. The K-3 Plus program is an
extended school-year program for low-income or
low-performing schools.
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School Threats Pose
Justice Challenges

From the Chairwoman

The Right Tools

School shootings have been in the public’s consciousness at
least since the 1999 mass shooting at Columbine High School
in Colorado, but it was arguably the deaths of 20 6-and 7-year-
olds at Sandy Hook Elementary in Connecticut - or perhaps the
lack of action in its aftermath - that motivated many schools to
start limiting access and conducting active shooter drills. Still,
that particular brand of gun violence seemed very removed
from New Mexico until December, when a former high school
student killed two students at Aztec High. That incident, and
the refusal of survivors of a Florida high school mass shooting
to passively accept “thoughts and prayers,” served as prelude
to New Mexico legislative action on school safety this year.

In addition to directing LESC to study school violence, the
Legislature made tens of millions of dollars available to schools
for physical security improvements. But what school admin-
istrators have told us so far is that, while money for capital
improvements is appreciated, they are just as concerned about
operational funding for social workers, counselors, and school
resource (aka security) officers. In addition, schools want more
and better training, not only on reacting to a shooter but on
preventing a shooting and intervening with troubled students.
To be clear, few are clamoring for arming teachers, a logistically
improbable approach that fails to address how teachers will
access the guns quickly during a shooting or the appropriate-
ness of adding one more duty to teachers’ already full plates.

All this is not to say physical improvements won't make schools
safer, but turning schools into scary fortresses is not conducive
to learning or the emotional well-being of children. A school
should be warm and welcoming, a place inviting to students
and the community.

Finally, school officials, like most Americans, want reasonable
gun laws, such as universal, effective background checks and
gun violence restraining orders that temporarily restrict gun
ownership for those who are a threat to themselves or others.
The evidence is overwhelming that laws like these would save
lives, not just many of those lost in mass shooting but many of
the thousand who die each year to gun violence and suicide.

New Mexico gun control advocates are already working with
legislators on passage of common-sense gun laws. We must
also provide schools with the resources they need to ensure
the safety of their young charges. In a society that leads the
world in gun ownership and the incidence of mass shooting,
the lives of our children depend on it.

Senator Mimi Stewart

Inadequacies in current law mean
a teen who threatens a school
shooting can end up arrested on
the same charge that would be
used for a student who talks back
to a teacher, a juvenile justice offi-
cial says.

Testifying to the committee
during a June hearing on juvenile
delinquency and school threats,
Nick Costales, field services deputy
director for state Juvenile Justice
Services, said school resource
officers have used a petty mis-
demeanor charge of interfering
with the educational process as a
“catchall” for arresting disruptive
students.

Becauseit’s alow-level charge, an
arrest is rare but school security
staff use the charge if an arrest is
necessary, he said. They are now
reluctantly using it for threat-
related incidents because threats
are not covered in state law.

Costales said the Attorney Gen-
eral, as well as a task force in Albu-
querque made up mostly of law
enforcement officials, is looking
at changing state law to address
the issue, although policymakers
should be wary of any unintended
consequences resulting from a
new law.

Mike Heal, chief of the Aztec

Police Department, which
responded to a fatal school shoot-
ing in December, told the commit-
tee anew law could treat a shooting
threat the same as a bomb threat, a
fourth-degree felony.

Rachel Gudgel, LESC director,
said a review of criminal offenses
associated with recent school lock-
down or shelter-in-place incidents
found charges for assault, assault
with intent to commit a violent
felony, and - most often - interfer-
ence with the educational process.

Children under 18 charged with
an offense are generally handled
under the Delinquency Act, which
is focused on rehabilitation and
emphasizes community-based
alternatives and family and child
supports, she said.

Costales said, under the act, police
generally referjuveniles to Juvenile
Justice Services under the Children,
Youth and Families Department,
not the district attorney.

After an initial review, juvenile
authorities have a number of
options, including sending a case to
a district attorney, but many cases
are handled informally. In turn, the
district attorney has a number of
options, which include asking the
court to find a child delinquent
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Charter School Overseers Might Need Oversight

Creating abody to oversee the state
and local agencies that authorize
charter schools would be bureau-
cratically complicated but should be
examined further because it could
potentially improve charter schools,
suggests two national charter school
organizations.

Holding charter school authorizers
accountable for the performance of
charter schools they govern would
improve charter school oversight and
could improve charter school perfor-
mance or allow for underperforming
schools to be shut down more quickly.

A committee hearing on model stan-
dards for charter school authorizers,
promoted by both the National Asso-
ciation of Charter School Authorizers
and the National Alliance of Public
Charter Schools, is scheduled for 1:15

p-m. on July 18.

The two organizations have adopted
model standards for charter school
authorizers, and NACSA reports
New Mexico and 17 other states have
adopted standards that meet or exceed
its model.

In New Mexico, charter schools can
seek authorization from either local
school districts or the state-level Public
Education Commission.

The organizations say states should
start with requiring any body wanting
to be an authorizer to submit to a rigor-
ous application process. Legislatively
or constitutionally created bodies like
the PEC would be exempt, and local
school districts could be allowed to
simply register as authorizers.

A state-level oversight body, with
the ability to sanction or terminate an

System Unequipped for School Threats
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or seeking adult sanctions in limited
cases. A child found to be delinquent is
determined to be guilty of an offense
that would have been a crime if it had
been committed by an adult.

‘While most cases are handled infor-
mally, a juvenile might agree to meet
certain conditions and waive a right to
a disposition hearing within 180 days,
with the understanding the charges
will be dropped if the child meets the
conditions. Juveniles can also be placed
on probation with conditions under a
consent decree. Juveniles can also face
short- and long-term commitments in
a facility up to the age of 21.

Gudgel said generally juvenile records
are automatically sealed once a juvenile
offender reaches the age of 18, possibly
making it difficult to establish patterns
of behavior that indicate an offender is
a continued risk.
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Responding to committee questions,
Costales said juvenile records can be
used in adult criminal proceedings, but
he pointed out that referrals to Juvenile
Justice Services are poor predictors of
future behavior.

authorizer, should regularly review
the performance of each authorizer
and of the schools it oversees.

In addition, all authorizers should be
required to submit an annual report,
the organizations say, that includes
information on the performance of
the schools they oversee and, in New
Mexico, a detailed accounting of how
the authorizer uses the 2 percent in
charter school funds withheld to sup-
port charter schools.

Creating statewide standards would
discourage “authorizer shopping,”
where a charter school looks for the
authorizer with the friendliest rules
and weakest oversight. More than
30 New Mexico charter schools have
changed authorizers at least once.

Criticized by NACSA in 2016 for set-
ting the bar too low for charter school
applicants, the PEC, the state’s largest
authorizer, has since adopted more
rigorous academic and organizational
criteria for charter schools and is
working on those for finances. Since
2016, the commission has renewed
fewer unconditional charters and
denied or added conditions more
often.

Results Vary with Transportation Formulas

The Public Education Department uses two different formulas for calculating transportation funding for
“small” and “large” school districts and charter schools, excluding factors for some schools that seem like

they should apply.

While districts and state-chartered charter schools all generate funds for the number of students trans-
ported and the number of miles driven by buses, a base allocation in the formulas is not applied to charter
schools. Charter schools and small school districts generate funding for the number of buses but do not
generate funding for special education students. Large school districts receive funds for special education

students but not school buses.

While the formulas result in small and large school districts receiving similar allocations per mile traveled,
charter schools receive more per mile traveled than either small or large districts. Small districts receive a
higher total allocation per student than both charter schools and big districts.

FY16 Transportation Funding by Formula Factors

100%

90%
29%
80%
70%
60%
50%
40%

30%

20%
10% 22%

0%

Charter School Average

Small School District
(<1000) Average

OMiles Traveled

@EBuses

BSpecial Education

Students

O Students

EBase Amount

Large School District
(>1000) Average



