

MINUTES of the FOUR-HUNDRED-SEVENTEENTH MEETING of the LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

January 15, 2024 State Capitol, Room 307 Santa Fe

The four-hundred-seventeenth meeting of the Legislative Council was called to order by Senator Mimi Stewart, co-chair, on January 15, 2024 at 1:38 p.m. in Room 307 of the State Capitol in Santa Fe.

Present Absent

Rep. Javier Martínez, Co-Chair

Sen. Mimi Stewart, Co-Chair

Rep. Gail Armstrong

Sen. Gregory A. Baca

Sen. Craig W. Brandt

Rep. Gail Chasey

Sen. Katy M. Duhigg

Rep. T. Ryan Lane

Sen. Steven P. Neville

Sen. Michael Padilla

Rep. Andrea Romero

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero

Sen. Benny Shendo, Jr.

Rep. Reena Szczepanski

Sen. Peter Wirth

Special Advisory Members Present

Rep. Eliseo Lee Alcon

Sen. Pete Campos

Rep. Christine Chandler

Rep. Susan K. Herrera

Rep. D. Wonda Johnson

Rep. Randall T. Pettigrew

Rep. William "Bill" R. Rehm

Rep. Nathan P. Small

Special Advisory Members Absent

Rep. Cathrynn N. Brown

Rep. Joanne J. Ferrary

Rep. Doreen Y. Gallegos

Rep. Joy Garratt

Rep. Dayan Hochman-Vigil

Rep. Alan T. Martinez

Rep. Matthew McQueen

Sen. Antoinette Sedillo Lopez

Rep. Elizabeth "Liz" Thomson

Staff

Raúl E. Burciaga, Director, Legislative Council Service (LCS) Amy Chavez-Romero, Assistant Director for Legislative Affairs, LCS Shawna Casebier, Assistant Director for Drafting Services, LCS Anesa Serna-Espinoza, Assistant Director for Administration, LCS Jeret Fleetwood, Project Coordinator, LCS Erin Bond, Researcher, LCS Sara Wiedmaier, Researcher, LCS

Approval of Minutes

On a motion made, seconded and approved, the council adopted the minutes of the October 16, 2023 meeting of the council as submitted.

Capitol Security

Alex Rodriguez, major, New Mexico State Police, provided the council with an overview of the state police detail providing security during the second session of the fifty-sixth legislature. He explained that the overall budget for the detail was \$198,935.60, which provided for one lieutenant, two sergeants and 18 patrolmen, representing each state police district in the state.

Senator Stewart thanked Major Rodriguez for the information and for the state police presence in the State Capitol during the session.

Senator Stewart noted that Senator Steven McCutcheon II had been appointed to replace former Senator Gay G. Kernan and Representative Greg Nibert had been appointed to replace former Senator Stuart Ingle as members of the New Mexico Senate.

Representative Martínez noted that Representative Cristina Parajón had been appointed to replace former Representative Christine Trujillo and Representative Jared A. Hembree had been appointed to replace Representative Greg Nibert as members of the New Mexico House of Representatives.

Mr. Burciaga introduced the following new bill drafters to the council: Paul Estok, Nancy Martinez, Susan Roth and Simon Suzuki, noting that Mr. Estok, Ms. Martinez and Mr. Suzuki are full-time LCS bill drafters. He also mentioned two other contract bill drafters, Claudia Armijo and Alison Platt, who will be working remotely.

Approvals

Mr. Burciaga explained that, because the December council meeting had been canceled, the Courts, Corrections and Justice Committee was requesting retroactive ratification for the Speaker and President Pro Tempore's approval for a meeting held after December 1, 2023.

Mr. Burciaga also explained that council approval was required to authorize per diem and mileage reimbursement out of pre-session funding for members attending meetings of the House Appropriations and Finance Committee and Senate Finance Committee during the week of January 8-12, 2024.

On a motion made, seconded and unanimously passed, the council approved both requests.

Appointments

Representative Martínez announced his nomination of Allen Sanchez to replace Harold Lavender on the State Investment Council for a term expiring on March 31, 2028.

Senator Stewart announced her nomination of Kelly O'Donnell to replace Timothy Z. Jennings on the State Investment Council, noting that both appointments would require senate approval.

Representative Martínez announced that he did not yet have a nominee for the New Mexico Bioscience Authority.

Senator Baca announced his nomination of Delbert Jaramillo to the Insurance Nominating Committee.

Senator Stewart noted that two members of the Opportunity Enterprise Review Board resigned and that the council names those appointments. She requested that the council authorize the president pro tempore of the senate and speaker of the house of representatives to make those appointments, along with the speaker's appointment to the New Mexico Bioscience Authority, during the interim.

On a motion made, seconded and unanimously passed, the council approved the appointments and authorization for the speaker and president pro tempore to make the remaining appointments during the interim.

Classification and Compensation Plan

Senator Stewart explained that staff has been researching the development of legislative staff pay bands with an eye toward updating them to ensure that they would be adjusted for inflation, which has not occurred for some time. She noted that Legislative Council policy allows the council to adopt and periodically revise the legislative staff classification and compensation plan.

Senator Stewart made a motion to allow the LCS director and staff to work with the Legislative Education Study Committee director, the Legislative Finance Committee director, the House and Senate Chief Clerks and leadership staff to develop options for an ongoing legislative staff classification and compensation committee.

In response to a question, Senator Stewart and Charles Sallee, director, Legislative Finance Committee, explained that pay bands discussed by the Legislative Finance Committee were not specific to legislative employees.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the council, the meeting adjourned at 1:54 p.m.